OS X V10.7 Lion :: Text Information Lost After Saving A Pdf With Preview?

Mar 15, 2012

I have a problem when saving a pdf using preview. 

I create a document using Xelatex and the document works fine just after it is created, i.e. it looks good, it can be searched, etc. The problem comes when I save the document using preview. For example if I add a note, or highlight something and save the document, it automatically losses all text information. 

It can still be opened and looks good, but it cannot be searched any more. In addition, if I try to copy a part of the text all I get are some strange characters that look like a small square with a face on it. 

If I do the same procedure (i.e. open, highlight some text, and save) using pdf acrobat reader, the file is still readable both in acrobat and preview. It has to be fonts related, since it only happens when I use xelatex or latex with some specific fonts, but not with all of them. 

Info:
MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.7.3)

View 2 Replies


ADVERTISEMENT

OS X :: Saving And Printing PDF From Preview Creates Garbled Text?

Oct 7, 2009

Since I have installed SL, when I try to print to PDF from the print menu or save a PDF I'm viewing with Preview (for example) from a website, the text of the PDF is completely garbled/scrambled.

I don't have this problem when I use Acrobat 8 Pro only when I am using the OS PDF or saving and/or printing from Preview. I have cleared the font cache, but no solution.

View 5 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: Can Set Preview To Default To .jpg And Best Quality When Saving

Apr 8, 2012

I have seen this asked numerous times over the last six years, but no satisfactory answers.When I open graphic files with preview (regardless of type), I want to crop them, then "Save as".I want Preview to default to .jpg format AND Best quality. Can I set these attributes?Please don't suggest "sliding the quality bar..." as I've seen many do. That's not what I want to do - I'm asking about DEFAULTS.

View 2 Replies View Related

MacBook Pro :: OS X Lion Is Not Saving Diacritics (Romanian Characters) In Text?

Feb 1, 2012

I am trying to use OpenOffice and LibreOffice for word processing, but after I write with diacritics/romanian characters and save the text, when I open the document again the diacritics dissapear. In LibreOffice the diacritics become empty space and in OpenOffice I get ? instead of them. 

Info:
MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.7.2)

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: After Installing It, Text Edit And Pages Hangs When Closing Or Saving?

Mar 13, 2012

After installing Lion, Text Edit & Pages hangs when closing or saving. Have to force quit, and often FQ will not do it and have to shut down manually. 

Info:
i mac, Mac OS X (10.5.8)

View 1 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: Preview Lost Saved Signatures And Won't Save New Ones?

Apr 25, 2012

Preview 5.5.1 running on a new MacBook Air.  I created a couple of signatures and was using them fine for a couple of weeks.  Suddenly the saved sigs are no longer available, and new ones are not being saved.  I click 'accept' in the create new signature popup, then the popup dissappears and the sig is not saved. 

Info:
MacBook Air, Mac OS X (10.7.3), Preview 5.5.1

View 1 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: Preview Lost Saved Signatures And Won't Save New Ones

Jun 14, 2012

Preview 5.5.1 running on a new MacBook Air.  I created a couple of signatures and was using them fine for a couple of weeks.  Suddenly the saved sigs are no longer available, and new ones are not being saved.  I click 'accept' in the create new signature popup, then the popup disappears and the sig is not saved. 

Info:
MacBook Air, Mac OS X (10.7.3), Preview 5.5.1

View 1 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: Sandbox Make Preview And Text Edit Unresponsive?

Apr 2, 2012

i want to open an image or pdf with preview,it loads slowly for the first time  while mouse pointer wheeling (like crash time)and the console error is about sandboxing,i think it is created because of update from 10.7.1 to 10.7.3, the console message is

sandboxd[318] ([313]): Preview(313) deny iokit-open AppleGraphicsPolicyClient com.apple.mdworker.isolation.0[322]: warning: invalid bfrange: string length is not a multiple of 2.

i don't know what to do more to  solve this problem, i have done reset password,disk utility permissions repair?

View 9 Replies View Related

Applications :: IPhoto Is Saving Critical Information For Photo Library?

Nov 20, 2009

I noticed that this box pops up everytime I go to close iPhoto and it's an extremely slow process. Each time I have closed iPhoto, it takes about 5 to 10 minutes to "save this critical information." Before I upgraded to my new 27" iMac, it would never do this and iPhoto would close right away. Is this standard now? Why does it take so long to do its thing and close?

View 5 Replies View Related

OS X :: Saving Modified Pdf Files Using Preview

Sep 8, 2010

I received an email with a pdf file that I had to complete and send back. I opened the document with Preview, made the changes to complete the form, and saved it ("saved as" because the program wouldn't let me just "save" it. A box popped up saying that changes may affect the original format and that I had to "save as" to get a copy of the file). I opened it again just to make sure, and all the changes were there. I sent it via gmail, and a few hours later the original sender tells me that the form was empty. I checked, and it was empty, even though the name of the file was the one I gave it. I tried again with the same result. Using a PC I had no problems, so I am guessing that the issue is with Preview. Does anyone know what I did wrong?

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X :: Saving Voice To Text As Mp3?

Sep 15, 2008

Anyone know how I could go about saving voice to text as a MP3 file so I can use it for a video?

View 1 Replies View Related

OS X V10.6 Snow Leopard :: Preview - Saving Pdf To Jpeg?

Mar 28, 2012

I have a lot of multipage pdf's that I need to reduce in file size. They are scanned pdf's so no actual editable content.

If i select a page and 'save as' I can save to jpeg where I can reset the dpi of the page (currently 300dpi). This is Fine, but I need to do it to all the pages of the pdf. If I select all pages 'save as' will only save out one page and not all.

If I print and choose 'pdf to jpeg', It will save out all pages but I don't get the ability to reduce to dpi and the output jpgs are still huge. Is there a way to save to pages out in one go to jpeg where I can adjust the dpi setting?

I have tried using the reduce file size option, but the resulting pdf has lost too much quality and is unreadable. Once I have the reduced jpegs it's easy enough to reimport into preview and save as a pdf. 

Info:
iMac, Mac OS X (10.6.8)

View 6 Replies View Related

OS X :: When Use Disc Utility And Install Cd Will Lost Hdd Information

Aug 8, 2010

I recently updated my system to Snow Leopard which worked fine. Then I tried to upgrade some software the computer will not reboot. I have tried resetting the Pram but no luck. I can boot to the cd however it doesn't see the HDD. I can boot to an external HDD but I'm not able to mount the original HDD. Disk aid will not repair the HDD. I tried super duper to copy the disc and reinstall but it doesn't see the HDD. The HDD is a SSD drive. I need to at least be able to copy the information from this drive. However I am stuck at this point.

If I use disk utility and the source is my install cd and the destination the HDD will I lose all my information?

View 19 Replies View Related

OS X :: Mac Saving Online Pictures As Text Files

Aug 20, 2009

I'm trying to save pictures that I find online to my mac but it's saving them as text files. It was working earlier today and it just all of a sudden stopped working. Does anybody know what's going on?

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X V10.6 Snow Leopard :: Lost All Input Calendar Information

Jun 11, 2012

I lost all of my input calendar information. I hope my inputs such as birthdays, events, etc., have been stored somewhere on my computer.

View 1 Replies View Related

Software :: Text Edit File Not Saving Automatically

Mar 18, 2010

When I open text edit and yet I haven't saved it, it gives me an error that it can't save it automatically. I don't think I had this error before. here's the error:
http://img52.imageshack.us/img52/756/18598786.png
Here's the permission for my hard disk:
[URL]

View 1 Replies View Related

Applications :: View Pdf Files In Camino Browser Without Saving Them Or Open Preview?

Feb 26, 2008

does anyone know of a way (plugin or otherwise) to view pdf files in the camino browser without having to save them or open preview? i know about the pdfbrowser plugin, but that's for PPC only. ideally, i'm looking for something that will mimic safari pdf functionality... that's like the only reason i still sometimes use safari!

View 10 Replies View Related

MacBook Air :: Heavy Memory Loss Storage - When Saving PDF Document In Preview

Sep 1, 2014

I am currently editing lots of pdfs and other files for notes. There is one particular big file, ca. 300 MB (part of a book). When I edit this file in Preview (underlining etc.) and save my changes, I loose almost the whole size of the file in disk space.  

Saving 10 times, that equals ca. 3 GB. Since I am a diligent "back-upper", I loose ca. 3 GB every 90 minutes. Over the last 3 days, this has consumed more or less 40 GB of my storage space. I have restarted several times and had to delete a lot of files; the sleepimage file is ca. 1 GB big only, so that is not the problem;so I have used "Disk Utility" to localize the massive space use. 

Disk utility registers the storage loss in total numbers (35 GB free, next time only 32 GB free), but not within the folders (the single sizes of the folders -Application; Library; User etc-), their sizes stay the same!what happened to my disk space. I need to restore those 40 GB they are being used by something completely useless somewhere. 

Info:
MacBook Air, OS X Mavericks (10.9.4)

View 4 Replies View Related

Intel Mac :: Retrieve Lost Information From A Time Machine Backup?

Apr 10, 2012

All our itunes songs are no longer on our hard disk thumbnails of photos there - but can't access them on main screen.I backed up a week before info ws lost using time machine backup.How do i retrieve these pics, songs etc?

Info:iMac, Mac OS X (10.6.8)

View 1 Replies View Related

OS X :: Yellow Text In Preview?

Mar 22, 2009

Why does the icon show yellow text when the document has black text?

View 1 Replies View Related

OS X :: Add Text To Forms In Preview?

May 27, 2009

My employer sent me a form in .pdf form to fill out and send back. How can I fill out the form in Preview and send it back instead of having to print, complete, scan and re-send the form?

View 3 Replies View Related

OS X :: Preview PDF - No Save - Doc - Lost

Mar 12, 2009

I was writing a form (.pdf document) in Preview today. When going to try to quit (apple + q) the printer proxy, I accidentally quit Preview. I guess whoever created the document set it to read only, so I could not save (I'm a bit stupid, should have worked in word). Is there anyway I could retrieve the document? I doubt so, but that is why I am coming to you guys.

View 3 Replies View Related

Applications :: How To Add Text To Images With Preview

Mar 20, 2009

I know there's a way to do this. I want to be more proficient in Preview without having to fire up CS3. I'm going nuts trying to find a decent tutorial online. I found this one but by reading the comments, there seems to be another way.

View 3 Replies View Related

OS X :: How To Get Image Text From IPhoto / Preview

Jun 16, 2009

If I wanted to post on a forum a picture I need to have the image text and use that to insert the image itself. How do I get the image text from iPhoto, Photobooth, and Preview?

View 8 Replies View Related

OS X :: Way To Insert Text In Photo Using Preview?

Oct 24, 2009

Some time ago I learned of a technique to insert text (caption) into the body of a photo. I am pretty sure it used Preview, but I cannot get any further than that. Can someone guide me through that again?

View 17 Replies View Related

MacBook Pro :: Text On Preview Keeps Turning Sideways

Apr 11, 2012

So I use Preview for taking notes in class. I just add text boxes on top of the slides and save it afterwards. It usually works great. But the last few PDFs, even though I type all the text correctly and save it before I close, I will reopen the PDF document later to find that every text box throughout the document has been turned sideways! It's really annoying to have to go back and individually turn the boxes right side up (if I just enlarge the textbox a little, the words align correctly). I'm using a MacBook Pro (pretty new) with Lion OS.

Info:
MacBook Pro, iPhone 4 (32GB), iPad2

View 3 Replies View Related

Applications :: Preview Stops Allowing The Highlighting Of Text?

Jan 29, 2009

For a while I can highlight text and mark, etc but after I save the PDF it sometimes no longer allows me to highlight any text, even text I have already highlighted..

View 1 Replies View Related

OS X :: Preview.app Displays PDFs With Missing Or Distorted Text

Jul 10, 2009

I've been having intermittent problems with the Preview app showing PDF files with either missing text or distorted fonts. The PDFs all display correctly if I use Adobe Acrobat (Reader or Professional). The one I can consistently get to malfunction is the PDF generated by the Postal Service label generator. The barcode always prints incorrectly by Preview, yet if I pull up that very same file in Adobe, it displays and prints just fine.

View 3 Replies View Related

OS X V10.6 Snow Leopard :: Format Text Box In Preview App Annotations?

Mar 22, 2012

I frequently use Preview to annotate PDFs and screen shots, and every time I add a text box annotation it is formatted to center the text in the box. Is there any way to change that so that text is aligned with the left side of the box?

Info:Mac OS X (10.6)

View 5 Replies View Related

OS X V10.6 Snow Leopard :: Preview Show Text Of An Annotation In Sidebar

May 11, 2012

I have several PDF docs with several annotations in them. When I show the sidebar in Preview it lists page, type, date, and author, but does not display the words in the annotations!With a long of annotations that only identify themselves by "Text", it's laborious to find the note one is looking for. (One has to manually step through each one at a time!)

Info:MacBook Pro early 2008, Mac OS X (10.6.8), Time for a new computer!

View 1 Replies View Related







Copyrights 2005-15 www.BigResource.com, All rights reserved