OS X :: Saving And Printing PDF From Preview Creates Garbled Text?

Oct 7, 2009

Since I have installed SL, when I try to print to PDF from the print menu or save a PDF I'm viewing with Preview (for example) from a website, the text of the PDF is completely garbled/scrambled.

I don't have this problem when I use Acrobat 8 Pro only when I am using the OS PDF or saving and/or printing from Preview. I have cleared the font cache, but no solution.

View 5 Replies


ADVERTISEMENT

OS X V10.7 Lion :: Text Information Lost After Saving A Pdf With Preview?

Mar 15, 2012

I have a problem when saving a pdf using preview. 

I create a document using Xelatex and the document works fine just after it is created, i.e. it looks good, it can be searched, etc. The problem comes when I save the document using preview. For example if I add a note, or highlight something and save the document, it automatically losses all text information. 

It can still be opened and looks good, but it cannot be searched any more. In addition, if I try to copy a part of the text all I get are some strange characters that look like a small square with a face on it. 

If I do the same procedure (i.e. open, highlight some text, and save) using pdf acrobat reader, the file is still readable both in acrobat and preview. It has to be fonts related, since it only happens when I use xelatex or latex with some specific fonts, but not with all of them. 

Info:
MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.7.3)

View 2 Replies View Related

MacBook :: Text Becoming Garbled On Webpage In Safari

Nov 5, 2008

Ever since the last security update, I have been having trouble with the text in part of a web page becoming garbled. It happens when I am scrolling through a page. I can fix it by highlighting the text and it will go away. It remains legible after I take the highlighting away. It does not happen every time I scroll, but it does happen randomly throughout the day. I have owned my Macbook for almost a year and this problem has only come up since the last security update.

View 7 Replies View Related

Applications :: Print Manager Creates Separate Job For Multiple Printing

Sep 29, 2010

Trying to print from my Macbook. When I print one copy it is fine however when I print multiple copies, the Print manager creates each copy as a separate print job and it takes forever!!

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X :: Text Fonts Garbled In Safari And Address Book Snow Leopard?

Sep 26, 2009

System: clean install of 10.6

[B]Issues:[/B ]Safari has garbled menus/text and so does [URL]
Also the groups on the right in address book are garbled (the text looks out of place/corrupt ). The contacts look fine, it's just a couple group names, not all.

What i've tried: There are no duplicates in my font book. I repaired permissions. I've tried the demo of fontdoctor 7.6 but it says no errors, everything passed.

I'm completely stuck - anyone else have this problem?

View 10 Replies View Related

OS X V10.5 Leopard :: Printing PDFs Only Saving As First Page?

Jul 5, 2012

When I save a Word 2004 file as a PDF, only the first page is saved/printed. 

This is a 2 page document. adjusting the settings? 

Info:
iMac, Mac OS X (10.5.8)

View 1 Replies View Related

OS X :: Saving Modified Pdf Files Using Preview

Sep 8, 2010

I received an email with a pdf file that I had to complete and send back. I opened the document with Preview, made the changes to complete the form, and saved it ("saved as" because the program wouldn't let me just "save" it. A box popped up saying that changes may affect the original format and that I had to "save as" to get a copy of the file). I opened it again just to make sure, and all the changes were there. I sent it via gmail, and a few hours later the original sender tells me that the form was empty. I checked, and it was empty, even though the name of the file was the one I gave it. I tried again with the same result. Using a PC I had no problems, so I am guessing that the issue is with Preview. Does anyone know what I did wrong?

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X :: Saving Voice To Text As Mp3?

Sep 15, 2008

Anyone know how I could go about saving voice to text as a MP3 file so I can use it for a video?

View 1 Replies View Related

OS X V10.6 Snow Leopard :: Preview - Saving Pdf To Jpeg?

Mar 28, 2012

I have a lot of multipage pdf's that I need to reduce in file size. They are scanned pdf's so no actual editable content.

If i select a page and 'save as' I can save to jpeg where I can reset the dpi of the page (currently 300dpi). This is Fine, but I need to do it to all the pages of the pdf. If I select all pages 'save as' will only save out one page and not all.

If I print and choose 'pdf to jpeg', It will save out all pages but I don't get the ability to reduce to dpi and the output jpgs are still huge. Is there a way to save to pages out in one go to jpeg where I can adjust the dpi setting?

I have tried using the reduce file size option, but the resulting pdf has lost too much quality and is unreadable. Once I have the reduced jpegs it's easy enough to reimport into preview and save as a pdf. 

Info:
iMac, Mac OS X (10.6.8)

View 6 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: Can Set Preview To Default To .jpg And Best Quality When Saving

Apr 8, 2012

I have seen this asked numerous times over the last six years, but no satisfactory answers.When I open graphic files with preview (regardless of type), I want to crop them, then "Save as".I want Preview to default to .jpg format AND Best quality. Can I set these attributes?Please don't suggest "sliding the quality bar..." as I've seen many do. That's not what I want to do - I'm asking about DEFAULTS.

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X :: Printing In Preview - How To Change Orientation

May 23, 2008

I'm trying to print a credit card sized image in the form of a PDF file from preview. It's actually a scanned copy of an ID card and when I print it, it always prints the image in the exact center of the paper. I would like it to print in the upper left or right hand corner, so I can take the paper, re-insert it and then print the reverse side of the ID card on the same sheet of paper, but am not sure how to go about this. In "page setup", I can successfully change the orientation to landscape, but this doesn't help. I also can't seem to find any help in the printer setup section. I'm printing using an HP Officejet 6310. Is this possible using preview? I'm using OSX 10.4.11.

View 4 Replies View Related

OS X :: Printing PDF - Resizes In Firefox And Preview

Aug 3, 2009

I am trying to print a picture in a PDF. When I scale it in Preview or Firefox, it looks correct. When I hit print it's either bigger or smaller than the picture on screen. When I try to print from Preview, it resizes it, instead of just leaving it the original size and dumping it on the page somewhere. Basically, I have a picture that my niece drew for me. I am going to make it the image that goes on the front of a Shuttle PC I'm building for my mom to replace her Mini. (long story, but another Mini for me!) Does anybody have a hint on how I can get it to print without resizing or scaling to fit the page? Another part of the problem that is probably related... In Preview, it says the picture is less than 5x3, but it's 7x5.5. If I can get Preview to understand how big it really is, maybe it will print right.

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X :: Printing In Landscape On Apple Preview?

May 31, 2010

How the hell do I print in landscape in Apple Preview.

I go to layout tab in the print menubox, and it has these 4 fancy diagrams, but none of them seem to mean landscape. Why isn't there a simple "Print landscape"/"Print portrait" button. At times like these I want to stick a rusty pole up Steve Jobs' bottom. Come back Microsoft - all is forgiven.

And also, why, once I click on "preview" (within the print menubox) to see what my settings look like - and I see it hasn't worked - I then have to reinput all of my settings again?

View 4 Replies View Related

Intel Mac :: Preview App Printing Oddly

Apr 21, 2012

I have a new printer (HP) and it prints well from most apps. But when I print a PDF from the Preview app it has no relation to the color in the document. If I open Acrobat it prints fine. I can't figure out what the problem is.

Info:
MacBookPro, Mac OS X (10.7)

View 1 Replies View Related

OS X Yosemite :: Printing Two Pages In One With Preview

Dec 2, 2014

In Yosemite, using Preview, I can't print anymore two pages of a PDF document on one paper, for example pages 1 AND 2 on the same page. It prints the same page (1) twice!

View 3 Replies View Related

OS X :: Mac Saving Online Pictures As Text Files

Aug 20, 2009

I'm trying to save pictures that I find online to my mac but it's saving them as text files. It was working earlier today and it just all of a sudden stopped working. Does anybody know what's going on?

View 2 Replies View Related

Applications :: Printing Specific Pages Out Of Preview?

Jan 1, 2005

When I'm in printing and want to print a specific page after viewing in Preview, is there a way to select from within Preview that certain page, or range of pages to print?

View 3 Replies View Related

Software :: Text Edit File Not Saving Automatically

Mar 18, 2010

When I open text edit and yet I haven't saved it, it gives me an error that it can't save it automatically. I don't think I had this error before. here's the error:
http://img52.imageshack.us/img52/756/18598786.png
Here's the permission for my hard disk:
[URL]

View 1 Replies View Related

Applications :: View Pdf Files In Camino Browser Without Saving Them Or Open Preview?

Feb 26, 2008

does anyone know of a way (plugin or otherwise) to view pdf files in the camino browser without having to save them or open preview? i know about the pdfbrowser plugin, but that's for PPC only. ideally, i'm looking for something that will mimic safari pdf functionality... that's like the only reason i still sometimes use safari!

View 10 Replies View Related

MacBook Air :: Heavy Memory Loss Storage - When Saving PDF Document In Preview

Sep 1, 2014

I am currently editing lots of pdfs and other files for notes. There is one particular big file, ca. 300 MB (part of a book). When I edit this file in Preview (underlining etc.) and save my changes, I loose almost the whole size of the file in disk space.  

Saving 10 times, that equals ca. 3 GB. Since I am a diligent "back-upper", I loose ca. 3 GB every 90 minutes. Over the last 3 days, this has consumed more or less 40 GB of my storage space. I have restarted several times and had to delete a lot of files; the sleepimage file is ca. 1 GB big only, so that is not the problem;so I have used "Disk Utility" to localize the massive space use. 

Disk utility registers the storage loss in total numbers (35 GB free, next time only 32 GB free), but not within the folders (the single sizes of the folders -Application; Library; User etc-), their sizes stay the same!what happened to my disk space. I need to restore those 40 GB they are being used by something completely useless somewhere. 

Info:
MacBook Air, OS X Mavericks (10.9.4)

View 4 Replies View Related

OS X :: Printing PDF From Preview - Colors Inverted In Snow Leopard

Feb 20, 2010

I have a PDF that I scanned in myself and the first time I printed it it printed just the way it was supposed to. The next time I opened up the file in preview it looked normal on my screen but when I went to print it the output in the printer had the colors inverted. I have tried printing from preview and adobe acrobat and it printed the same the blacks came out white and the whites came out black. So I tried printing it from a windows computer and the file printed as it should, the colors were normal not inverted.

View 1 Replies View Related

OS X V10.6 Snow Leopard :: Printing From Preview Keeps Scaling Images?

Feb 28, 2012

Despite setting the print dialogue pane to not scale the image, Preview persists in scaling it to fit the page.  How to fix?

Info:
2x2.4GHz Quad Core Mac Pro, iPhone 4, Mac OS X (10.6.8)

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: Collating Or Grouping Pages When Printing From Preview?

Mar 27, 2012

Just updated to lion and have found that I can no longer select or unselect the collate option when printing from preview.  The collate select button is available when printing from adobe reader or word, but it is nowhere to be found under any of the preview print options since the update. Has it been moved to some super secret location?   

I included the screen shots of adobe reader and preview print windows. The collate selection button in preview used to be located to the right of the # of copies window.   

Info:
Mac OS X (10.7.3)

View 3 Replies View Related

MacBook Pro :: OS X Lion Is Not Saving Diacritics (Romanian Characters) In Text?

Feb 1, 2012

I am trying to use OpenOffice and LibreOffice for word processing, but after I write with diacritics/romanian characters and save the text, when I open the document again the diacritics dissapear. In LibreOffice the diacritics become empty space and in OpenOffice I get ? instead of them. 

Info:
MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.7.2)

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X :: Getting Junk Text Printed When Printing JPG File

Dec 17, 2009

I've been trying to automate scanning to my printer to create a virtual colour copier and came across some automator scripts (very simple). However, when I try to use the "Print Images" action it results in junk text printing instead of the image. I then took a step back and tried printing a JPG file directly by dragging and dropping onto a desktop printer icon and I get the same result. This is therefore not an automator issue. I also tried this on both an HP Photosmart P1100 and an HP Laserjet 4 Plus and get the same result on both. Can anyone tell me where I am going wrong? Running fully updated 10.6.2 and can print images just fine to either printer from applications such as Preview or iPhoto.

View 1 Replies View Related

OS X V10.6 Snow Leopard :: Preview App Won't Save Paper Size For Printing?

Feb 16, 2012

How can I purge my print settings via .plist or other so I can change my paper size? No matter what I select, preview application 'refreshes' my print values to a fixed 8.5x11 that applies a second border to my pdf and pushes everything down the page. Borderless 8.5x11 just won't stay as the value even though my printer has done this before. Worked fine prior, but now it just will not take a new page size.

Info:
Preview Application, Mac OS X (10.6.8)

View 4 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: After Installing It, Text Edit And Pages Hangs When Closing Or Saving?

Mar 13, 2012

After installing Lion, Text Edit & Pages hangs when closing or saving. Have to force quit, and often FQ will not do it and have to shut down manually. 

Info:
i mac, Mac OS X (10.5.8)

View 1 Replies View Related

Hardware :: HP Printer Not Printing Right / Text Blurry And Unreadable

Oct 31, 2010

I had the above printer connected to my old and newer computer. I got another printer and decided to sell my 7350. Nothing was wrong with it and I just got cartridges for it. I sold it for $20 and later that day the woman who bought it from me told me that for some reason she could not get the printer to print right and sent me a picture where the text was blurry and unreadable. Her laptop recognizes the printer and I told her to clean the cartridges, print a test page, etc. and still the printer is not printing well.

View 1 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: Text Not Printing With Black Ink On Canon I560?

Jun 29, 2012

I've been having a pretty annoying problem with my Canon i560: When printing black text, instead of using the black ink, the printer mixes black from the color inks. This has been a problem for a little while but recently, the colors got a little offset so it became really obvious. Also, I just received an update for the Canon printer drivers and according to the Apple page, the Canon i560 is supported and the drivers are actually updated I'm pretty sure that it's a driver problem because I can print from a Windows virtual machine to the exactly same printer all other variables remaining the same - and guess what: When printing from Windows, black is black, colors are colors, as one would expect with this kind of printer.

Info:
Mac Pro, Mac OS X (10.7.4)

View 6 Replies View Related

OS X :: Yellow Text In Preview?

Mar 22, 2009

Why does the icon show yellow text when the document has black text?

View 1 Replies View Related







Copyrights 2005-15 www.BigResource.com, All rights reserved