MacBook Air :: Heavy Memory Loss Storage - When Saving PDF Document In Preview

Sep 1, 2014

I am currently editing lots of pdfs and other files for notes. There is one particular big file, ca. 300 MB (part of a book). When I edit this file in Preview (underlining etc.) and save my changes, I loose almost the whole size of the file in disk space.  

Saving 10 times, that equals ca. 3 GB. Since I am a diligent "back-upper", I loose ca. 3 GB every 90 minutes. Over the last 3 days, this has consumed more or less 40 GB of my storage space. I have restarted several times and had to delete a lot of files; the sleepimage file is ca. 1 GB big only, so that is not the problem;so I have used "Disk Utility" to localize the massive space use. 

Disk utility registers the storage loss in total numbers (35 GB free, next time only 32 GB free), but not within the folders (the single sizes of the folders -Application; Library; User etc-), their sizes stay the same!what happened to my disk space. I need to restore those 40 GB they are being used by something completely useless somewhere. 

Info:
MacBook Air, OS X Mavericks (10.9.4)

View 4 Replies


ADVERTISEMENT

OS X Yosemite :: Loss Of Storage Due To OTHER

Dec 1, 2014

Loss of storage. I have listed below a summary of my hard drive:

15.02 GB free of 59.44 GB 
Other:  36.33 GB
Apps:  6.52 GB
Photos:  1.02 GB
Audio: 458.9 MB
Backups:  51.8 MB
Movies:  46.8 MB 

I had downloaded a few films accidently onto my hard dive rather than an external drive, after deleting them from the hard drive I noticed that the "Other" had increased significantly. 

View 2 Replies View Related

MacBook Pro :: SystemUIServer, UserEventAgent And Loginwindow Processes Cause Memory Loss?

Apr 30, 2012

everytime i start my machine the three processes start immediatly to raise to something like 1gb (each!). So far i tried  

-resetting SMC, PRAM, NVRAM

-repair disk permissions

-setting volume to boot from

-deleted the com.apple.loginwindow.plist and loginwindow.plist   

and i have the newest version of lion installed. i havent used the computer all the weekend and when i turned it on yesterday the problem appeared

Info:
MacBook
Pro

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: Image Editing Programs - Heavy Memory Usage?

Jun 15, 2012

I am wondering whether the memory use I see is common to the Mac OS X - touted as the graphics pros choice - it's seems anything but to me.  I have a mid 2010 iMac 27" 3.2 GHz Intel Core i312 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 (just upgraded in the hope that it would improve the problem - it didn't)ATI Radeon HD 5670 512 MBMac OS X Lion 10.7.4  That spec should be more than ample.  No.  Pixelmator uses up to 5GB yes - GB) just opening the app.  If I dare to open an actual image - let's say a 120mb jpg for editing - the memory usage is even higher - usually resulting in the image not opening at all.  GIMP is similar, but not as extreme - opening the file uses around 2GB.  Nevertheless, both of the above seem to me to be examples of excessive memory usage.  Certainly, my machine slows to a crawl when doing anything related to images?

Info:
Mac OS X (10.7.3), New iMac - bought Dec 2010

View 7 Replies View Related

MacBook Pro :: Stop It From Saving Onto The Desktop An Icon Of Every Downloaded Document?

Jun 21, 2012

How can I stop the MBPro from saving onto the desktop an icon of every downloaded document? 

Info:
MacBook Pro

View 5 Replies View Related

MacBook Air :: Upgrade The Memory And Storage?

May 21, 2012


I have Macbook Air, Mac OS X version 10.7.3 with memory 2GB 1067 MHz DDR3.  How can i upgrade the memory and storage?

Info:
MacBook Air, Mac OS X (10.7.3)

View 1 Replies View Related

MacBook Pro :: Upgrade Memory To 16 GB And Storage To About At Least 512 GB SSD

Jun 24, 2014

I have a MacBook Pro : 13-inch, Mid 2012, Processor  2.9 GHz Intel Core i7, Memory  8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3, Graphics  Intel HD Graphics 4000 , Software  OS X 10.9.3 (13D65) , Storage 750 GB SATA

I was wondering if it's possible for me to upgrade my Memory to 16 GB and my Storage to about at least 512 GB SSD

View 1 Replies View Related

MacBook Pro :: Any Way To Change Scanned Recipes In Preview To A Document?

Dec 2, 2014

I have scanned a bunch of recipes to my Macbook Pro and they all went to the Preview.  The only problem is I can't copy or paste the recipes because, I guess, they are not in document form.  Is there any way to change the recipes in Preview to a document?  Or what would be the best way to scan recipes?  I need to be able to copy and paste. 

View 1 Replies View Related

MacBook Pro :: Can User Upgrade Memory And Storage Themselves

Jun 18, 2012

Can the user upgrade memory and storage themselves? I'd like to add an OWC SSD & 16gb memory.I still prefer the DVD capability to burn discs

View 1 Replies View Related

Applications :: ILife - Saving Document In AI Format?

Jan 20, 2009

Is there a application in iLife 08 where you can save in ai format? I am looking to create an image and then send it to some one to be put into Adobe Illustrator.

View 1 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: Close A TextEdit Document Without Saving?

May 24, 2012

Just switched to Lion, and was alarmed to notice existing (previously saved) TextEdit files closing without an option to save or not save changes. How can I open a TextEdit file, edit it, and then close it without saving the changes? (I often like to print a document without the photo that may be in it, so I delete the photo, print, and then close without saving, because I didn't want the photo permanently removed from the document.) 

Info:
iMac, Mac OS X (10.6.8)

View 2 Replies View Related

MacBook Pro :: Opening/saving Excel And Word Files To Memory Stick?

Apr 30, 2012

Now that Apple have taken over our house with ipads, iphones, ipods etc , I decided to give my Dell laptop to the kids and bought a 13inch Macbook Pro and have installed Office 2011 

The problem I have is with my memory stick Kingston DT Locker which I also use on Windows XP and Windows 7 - I cannot open or save Excel (xls and xlsx) and Word files (doc and docx) from/to the drive  

I can copy files to the Mac, update them and then copy back to the drive  

I can open pdf and jpeg files  It is formatted to FAT32 

Info:
MacBook Pro

View 3 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: Saving Downloaded PDF Files - Document Could Not Be Exported

May 2, 2012

Recently I have experienced problems saving downloaded pdf files. When I attempt to save a pdf file downloaded pdf file I get the message "The document '85book-eng.pdf' could not be exported as '85book-eng.pdf'." I have a MP running Lion. I get the same message whether I use Safari or Firefox.

Info:
Mac Pro 2 x 3 GHz Dual-Core Intel Xeon, Mac OS X (10.7.2), iBook 1.3 GHz Power PC G4

View 4 Replies View Related

OS X :: Saving Modified Pdf Files Using Preview

Sep 8, 2010

I received an email with a pdf file that I had to complete and send back. I opened the document with Preview, made the changes to complete the form, and saved it ("saved as" because the program wouldn't let me just "save" it. A box popped up saying that changes may affect the original format and that I had to "save as" to get a copy of the file). I opened it again just to make sure, and all the changes were there. I sent it via gmail, and a few hours later the original sender tells me that the form was empty. I checked, and it was empty, even though the name of the file was the one I gave it. I tried again with the same result. Using a PC I had no problems, so I am guessing that the issue is with Preview. Does anyone know what I did wrong?

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X Mavericks :: Spinning Kaleidescope Wheel Has Blocked Saving Document

Sep 9, 2014

I was working on a document and when I was about to print it a spinningn wheel appeared, blocking me for working any further on the paper!!! Do I have to do a force quit and loose my document in order to continue writing?

Is there anyway I can save my document?

Info:
MacBook Air, OS X Mavericks (10.9.4), I can't seem to scan a document

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X V10.6 Snow Leopard :: Preview - Saving Pdf To Jpeg?

Mar 28, 2012

I have a lot of multipage pdf's that I need to reduce in file size. They are scanned pdf's so no actual editable content.

If i select a page and 'save as' I can save to jpeg where I can reset the dpi of the page (currently 300dpi). This is Fine, but I need to do it to all the pages of the pdf. If I select all pages 'save as' will only save out one page and not all.

If I print and choose 'pdf to jpeg', It will save out all pages but I don't get the ability to reduce to dpi and the output jpgs are still huge. Is there a way to save to pages out in one go to jpeg where I can adjust the dpi setting?

I have tried using the reduce file size option, but the resulting pdf has lost too much quality and is unreadable. Once I have the reduced jpegs it's easy enough to reimport into preview and save as a pdf. 

Info:
iMac, Mac OS X (10.6.8)

View 6 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: Can Set Preview To Default To .jpg And Best Quality When Saving

Apr 8, 2012

I have seen this asked numerous times over the last six years, but no satisfactory answers.When I open graphic files with preview (regardless of type), I want to crop them, then "Save as".I want Preview to default to .jpg format AND Best quality. Can I set these attributes?Please don't suggest "sliding the quality bar..." as I've seen many do. That's not what I want to do - I'm asking about DEFAULTS.

View 2 Replies View Related

MacBook Pro :: Flash Memory (storage) Rises Every Time On Opening A File Or Program?

Aug 24, 2014

My computer has 500 GB of capacity, but I have seen that every time I open a file or boot something the memory used rises a little. Is this normal? It is the first time that I have seen. 

Info:
MacBook Pro with Retina display, OS X Mavericks (10.9.4)

View 9 Replies View Related

OS X :: Saving And Printing PDF From Preview Creates Garbled Text?

Oct 7, 2009

Since I have installed SL, when I try to print to PDF from the print menu or save a PDF I'm viewing with Preview (for example) from a website, the text of the PDF is completely garbled/scrambled.

I don't have this problem when I use Acrobat 8 Pro only when I am using the OS PDF or saving and/or printing from Preview. I have cleared the font cache, but no solution.

View 5 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: Text Information Lost After Saving A Pdf With Preview?

Mar 15, 2012

I have a problem when saving a pdf using preview. 

I create a document using Xelatex and the document works fine just after it is created, i.e. it looks good, it can be searched, etc. The problem comes when I save the document using preview. For example if I add a note, or highlight something and save the document, it automatically losses all text information. 

It can still be opened and looks good, but it cannot be searched any more. In addition, if I try to copy a part of the text all I get are some strange characters that look like a small square with a face on it. 

If I do the same procedure (i.e. open, highlight some text, and save) using pdf acrobat reader, the file is still readable both in acrobat and preview. It has to be fonts related, since it only happens when I use xelatex or latex with some specific fonts, but not with all of them. 

Info:
MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.7.3)

View 2 Replies View Related

Applications :: How To Add Pages To A Document In Preview

Jan 11, 2009

How do I add pages to a document in Preview Application ?

View 1 Replies View Related

Applications :: View Pdf Files In Camino Browser Without Saving Them Or Open Preview?

Feb 26, 2008

does anyone know of a way (plugin or otherwise) to view pdf files in the camino browser without having to save them or open preview? i know about the pdfbrowser plugin, but that's for PPC only. ideally, i'm looking for something that will mimic safari pdf functionality... that's like the only reason i still sometimes use safari!

View 10 Replies View Related

Applications :: Preview Create New Document From PDF Highlights?

Sep 14, 2010

I'm a medical student and as such I have to read a lot of PDFs in Preview. I usually read the text and highlight as I go to mark the important stuff. I was wondering if there's a way to create a new document composed of only the stuff I highlighted. That way I would have a great study guide and I wouldn't have to re-type all the content. So to summarize:

Copy highlighted sections ONLY and paste selections into a new document

View 1 Replies View Related

Applications :: Preview To Display Hyperlinks In PDF Document?

Dec 24, 2009

How do I get Preview to display hyperlinks in a PDF document? I need to download a manual. When I click on the link in Safari, it only downloads the Table of Contents (1 p., 29KB). There are hyperlinks for each of the other 16 sections, but when I click on them, nothing happens, nothing further downloads, etc. How do I access the other sections?

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X Mavericks :: (10.9.2) Adding Signature To A Document In Preview

Jun 3, 2014

I'm trying to add a signature to a document. I've discovered that I can do this in Preview. I've used the FaceTime camera to scan my signature, saved it and I can see it when I click on Tools > Annotate > Signature. I can't add it to my document though. I've read that I need Preview to Show Edit Toolbar but this option is greyed out. The Edit button on the toolbar is also greyed out. I created the document in Word. 

Info:
iMac, OS X Mavericks (10.9.2)

View 2 Replies View Related

Mac Pro :: User Upgrade Memory Or Storage?

Dec 8, 2014

Can the user upgrade memory or storage on the new Mac Pro?

View 3 Replies View Related

OS X :: Fonts Tables And Figures Of A Pdf Document Look Fuzzy Under Preview?

May 27, 2009

I received an unpublished article in pdf format. On my MBP running 10.5.5, the tables, captions and figures looked fuzzy (out of focus) when I viewed the document using Preview. The main text looked fine. However, they all looked clear when I viewed the document using Acrobat Reader.

View 4 Replies View Related

OS X V10.5 Leopard :: Set A Preview Document To Print Limited Copies?

Jun 11, 2012

Is it possible to set a preview (PDF) document to print only a certain number of copies after which it would then become locked (password protected)?  

Info:
20" iMac G5 (PowerPC), Mac OS X (10.5.8), 2GB RAM

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X Mavericks :: How To Jump To Specific Page Of PDF Document In Preview

Sep 12, 2014

How can you jump to a specific page of a large PDF document without having to continuously scroll down on the thumbnail sidebar? 

Info:
iMac, OS X Mavericks (10.9.4)

View 1 Replies View Related

Intel Mac :: Storage Error - Memory Run Out Of Space

Jun 22, 2012

My iMac displays a message that says the memory run out of space and this do not allow me to work with some of my apps. The problem is that i do not have installed data that can fill 500 GB... in the apple menu - about this mac - the storage status shown in yellow as other takes 499 GB of the space but I don't have this kind of data or it is something that I cannot see.

Info:
iMac, Mac OS X (10.7.3)

View 4 Replies View Related







Copyrights 2005-15 www.BigResource.com, All rights reserved