OS X :: Printing In Preview - How To Change Orientation

May 23, 2008

I'm trying to print a credit card sized image in the form of a PDF file from preview. It's actually a scanned copy of an ID card and when I print it, it always prints the image in the exact center of the paper. I would like it to print in the upper left or right hand corner, so I can take the paper, re-insert it and then print the reverse side of the ID card on the same sheet of paper, but am not sure how to go about this. In "page setup", I can successfully change the orientation to landscape, but this doesn't help. I also can't seem to find any help in the printer setup section. I'm printing using an HP Officejet 6310. Is this possible using preview? I'm using OSX 10.4.11.



ADVERTISEMENT

Software :: How To: Delay Printing Change Name Change Setting Of Printers

Apr 29, 2002

Q1: how can I delay printing? This was possible in OS9.

I have a thermal printer wich permits me to change the ribbon (Black, CMY, CMYK). If I have a mixed type of files to print, I'd put on hold (in the "print" window) the files that requires the unloaded ribbon while waiting for the other to print.

Of course, I can print all the CMYK, wait until it's done then print the B/W ones but I don't find it practical. Or I can also rush to the print center and hope to have the time to suspend manualy the ones that need it.

Q2: Once a printer is created, how can I change the associated ppd? This also was possible with OS9.

Q3: It is possible to change the printer name once it is created?

View 1 Replies View Related

OS X :: Printing PDF - Resizes In Firefox And Preview

Aug 3, 2009

I am trying to print a picture in a PDF. When I scale it in Preview or Firefox, it looks correct. When I hit print it's either bigger or smaller than the picture on screen. When I try to print from Preview, it resizes it, instead of just leaving it the original size and dumping it on the page somewhere. Basically, I have a picture that my niece drew for me. I am going to make it the image that goes on the front of a Shuttle PC I'm building for my mom to replace her Mini. (long story, but another Mini for me!) Does anybody have a hint on how I can get it to print without resizing or scaling to fit the page? Another part of the problem that is probably related... In Preview, it says the picture is less than 5x3, but it's 7x5.5. If I can get Preview to understand how big it really is, maybe it will print right.

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X :: Printing In Landscape On Apple Preview?

May 31, 2010

How the hell do I print in landscape in Apple Preview.

I go to layout tab in the print menubox, and it has these 4 fancy diagrams, but none of them seem to mean landscape. Why isn't there a simple "Print landscape"/"Print portrait" button. At times like these I want to stick a rusty pole up Steve Jobs' bottom. Come back Microsoft - all is forgiven.

And also, why, once I click on "preview" (within the print menubox) to see what my settings look like - and I see it hasn't worked - I then have to reinput all of my settings again?

View 4 Replies View Related

Intel Mac :: Preview App Printing Oddly

Apr 21, 2012

I have a new printer (HP) and it prints well from most apps. But when I print a PDF from the Preview app it has no relation to the color in the document. If I open Acrobat it prints fine. I can't figure out what the problem is.

Info:
MacBookPro, Mac OS X (10.7)

View 1 Replies View Related

OS X Yosemite :: Printing Two Pages In One With Preview

Dec 2, 2014

In Yosemite, using Preview, I can't print anymore two pages of a PDF document on one paper, for example pages 1 AND 2 on the same page. It prints the same page (1) twice!

View 3 Replies View Related

Applications :: Printing Specific Pages Out Of Preview?

Jan 1, 2005

When I'm in printing and want to print a specific page after viewing in Preview, is there a way to select from within Preview that certain page, or range of pages to print?

View 3 Replies View Related

OS X :: Saving And Printing PDF From Preview Creates Garbled Text?

Oct 7, 2009

Since I have installed SL, when I try to print to PDF from the print menu or save a PDF I'm viewing with Preview (for example) from a website, the text of the PDF is completely garbled/scrambled.

I don't have this problem when I use Acrobat 8 Pro only when I am using the OS PDF or saving and/or printing from Preview. I have cleared the font cache, but no solution.

View 5 Replies View Related

OS X :: Printing PDF From Preview - Colors Inverted In Snow Leopard

Feb 20, 2010

I have a PDF that I scanned in myself and the first time I printed it it printed just the way it was supposed to. The next time I opened up the file in preview it looked normal on my screen but when I went to print it the output in the printer had the colors inverted. I have tried printing from preview and adobe acrobat and it printed the same the blacks came out white and the whites came out black. So I tried printing it from a windows computer and the file printed as it should, the colors were normal not inverted.

View 1 Replies View Related

OS X V10.6 Snow Leopard :: Printing From Preview Keeps Scaling Images?

Feb 28, 2012

Despite setting the print dialogue pane to not scale the image, Preview persists in scaling it to fit the page.  How to fix?

Info:
2x2.4GHz Quad Core Mac Pro, iPhone 4, Mac OS X (10.6.8)

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: Collating Or Grouping Pages When Printing From Preview?

Mar 27, 2012

Just updated to lion and have found that I can no longer select or unselect the collate option when printing from preview.  The collate select button is available when printing from adobe reader or word, but it is nowhere to be found under any of the preview print options since the update. Has it been moved to some super secret location?   

I included the screen shots of adobe reader and preview print windows. The collate selection button in preview used to be located to the right of the # of copies window.   

Info:
Mac OS X (10.7.3)

View 3 Replies View Related

OS X V10.6 Snow Leopard :: Preview App Won't Save Paper Size For Printing?

Feb 16, 2012

How can I purge my print settings via .plist or other so I can change my paper size? No matter what I select, preview application 'refreshes' my print values to a fixed 8.5x11 that applies a second border to my pdf and pushes everything down the page. Borderless 8.5x11 just won't stay as the value even though my printer has done this before. Worked fine prior, but now it just will not take a new page size.

Info:
Preview Application, Mac OS X (10.6.8)

View 4 Replies View Related

OS X Mavericks :: Change Printing Port Number On Mac?

Jun 20, 2014

How to customize the printing port number on mac? 

I use OSX 10.9.3 and need to change the printing port number to 93100 which is not a standard protocol port. 

I have searched on the net and clicked on all the buttons inside ADD PRINTER area but I cannot find anything.  

Maybe this functionality does not exist on mac at all? 

View 9 Replies View Related

MacBook :: Change Printer Settings For Faster Printing?

Mar 29, 2012

We can't figure out how to change our printer settings to print in draft mode.  The system only allows for standard mode which is very slow printing.  Our HP Office Jet 4680 allows for draft mode printing.

Info:
MacBook, Mac OS X (10.5.8)

View 1 Replies View Related

OS X :: Using Preview To Change Gif Transparency

Mar 17, 2009

I got this gif here... I need to make the blue background transparent. Can preview do that?

View 11 Replies View Related

Intel Mac :: Change The Print Quality When Printing Photos Through Iphoto?

Feb 6, 2012

How can I change the print quality when printing photos through iphoto on my iMac? I am running OSX 10.7.2 I have installed my printer with the latest downloaded drivers etc. The printer is a HP photosmart 5510. I have gone into system preferences, then print and scan. From here I can see my printer but can't see anyway of changing the print quality. Similarly, if I go into print settings via iPhoto I have the same problem. I have been able to change the quality in Safari but can't see how to create a default setting for photo printing at the highest quality

Info:
iMac, Mac OS X (10.7.2)

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X :: How To Change Timings For Slideshow Preview

Dec 6, 2009

Does anyone know how to change the timing of the slideshow feature in the Preview app? I would like to change the time that each slide is viewed.

10.4.11
PPC

View 2 Replies View Related

Intel Mac :: How To Change Font In Preview

Jun 17, 2012

How do you change the font in Preview?The font the comes up is difficult to read and I can't find out how to change it.When I bring up the fonts it doesn't allow me to change it.I don't know where to change it from.

Info:
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010), Mac OS X (10.6.8)

View 4 Replies View Related

OS X :: Possible To Change Quality Of Resized Images With Preview?

Sep 12, 2010

Does anyone know if you can change the quality of a resized image with Preview? I've created a service to resize images down to 800px width, but most of the time the file size is as large as the original. This is resizing screenshots off my mbp (1440x900 res).

View 2 Replies View Related

Applications :: How To Change Preview Defaults To Mail

Jun 10, 2010

In Preview, when I select "Mail pdf" the program defaults to the Mail app, but I want to use Gmail. Can the choice of mail program be changed?

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: Change File Preview In Finder?

Apr 6, 2012

So I just finished my latest short film, and I exported it to Finder. However I don't like the preview Finder chose for my video, it simply chose a random frame from my video and made that the preview of the file. I have a custom poster I made for the video I would like to make the preview of the file. I've look at other websites and they all mistook "preview" for icons. I am not talking about the icon of the file, I am talking about the actual preview of the file. If you open the Info pane of an image or a video file, there will be a tab under "Open With" named "Preview" and shows the preview thumbnail for the file. Can anyone tell me how I can manually change the preview of a file? I thought about importing the video into iTunes, change the cover art and take it out again, however because the file is encoded with Apple ProRes 4444 iTunes won't accept it and even if it did it would have been converted to other format, which is something I am trying to avoid and I would like to keep it ProRes 4444.

Info:MacBookPro, Mac OS X (10.7.2)

View 4 Replies View Related

Intel Mac :: Change Default From Preview To Neo Office?

Apr 21, 2012

how do I change the default from Preview to Neo office?

Info:iMac, Mac OS X (10.7.3)

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X V10.5 Leopard :: In Preview Change The Default Directory With Save As?

Apr 19, 2012

I have come across a problem where my default directory in Preview 4.2 won't change when I go to Save As.. Is there a way to change this default directory?

Info:
Mac mini, Mac OS X (10.5.8), Preview 4.2

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X Mavericks :: Change Font In Preview Pane In Mail?

Sep 12, 2014

how do i change the font in preview pane in Mail?

View 3 Replies View Related

MacBook Pro :: Any Way To Change Scanned Recipes In Preview To A Document?

Dec 2, 2014

I have scanned a bunch of recipes to my Macbook Pro and they all went to the Preview.  The only problem is I can't copy or paste the recipes because, I guess, they are not in document form.  Is there any way to change the recipes in Preview to a document?  Or what would be the best way to scan recipes?  I need to be able to copy and paste. 

View 1 Replies View Related

Applications :: How To Change The Default Pdf Reader In Safari From Preview To Acrobat

Mar 8, 2010

I'm trying to change the default program that opens PDF files in safari from preview to Adobe acrobat reader. I'm trying to do this because I prepare taxes and preview doesn't seem to fill in fields properly on forms such as

[URL]

In Adobe reader->Preferences->internet Display PDF in browser using Adobe Reader (9.3.1) is checked and beyond this I'm not sure what to do to change from preview to reader.

View 8 Replies View Related

Hardware :: Can A MacMini Be Safely Run In A Vertical Orientation

Oct 28, 2010

I have an "extra" Mini that I want to set-up in my kitchen. My plan is to mount the computer vertically on the inside of a cabinet. Will mounting the Mac in this way cause any trouble with the hard drive or DVD?

View 4 Replies View Related

Applications :: IWorks Pages 09 - Using Page Orientation

Feb 5, 2010

I can't seem to be able to change the page orientation of a few pages, in iWorks Pages. To clarify - i need the orientation of only 3 pages in the whole document, changing from portrait to landscape. It can be done on MS, so i thought it might be possible on Pages, but i can't seem to figure out how, or find anywhere which tells me how.

View 2 Replies View Related

MacBook :: Fix The Orientation Of A Desktop Background Photo?

Feb 22, 2012

I have a bunch of photos that I'd like to be able to use as my desktop background - all are saved on my computer with the correct "portrait" orientation, but when I open system preferences they weirdly show up in "landscape" orientation.  I've tried everything I can think of (saving them under different names, selecting and deselecting the exif orientation tag box, etc).  Nothing works.  The photos still show up sideways in the preferences panel. 

Info:
MacBook, Mac OS X (10.5.8)

View 1 Replies View Related

OS X V10.5 Leopard :: Default Print Orientation As Landscape

Apr 6, 2012

For some reason my MacBook Pro now has the default print orientation as landscape. I have searched the forums and found what I believe is the correct solution: delete the com.apple.print.PrintingPrefs.plist file from the user Library/Preferences.Now I am a little nervious about throwing away what may be a system type file, so I would really appreciate if someone would confirm that when this preference file is trashed, the system will rebuild it, I am guessing, on a restart.

View 1 Replies View Related







Copyrights 2005-15 www.BigResource.com, All rights reserved