Tracking Forums, Newsgroups, Maling Lists
Home Scripts Tutorials Tracker Forums
  Advanced Search
  HOME    TRACKER    mac


Advertisements:






OS X :: Printing In Preview - How To Change Orientation


I'm trying to print a credit card sized image in the form of a PDF file from preview. It's actually a scanned copy of an ID card and when I print it, it always prints the image in the exact center of the paper. I would like it to print in the upper left or right hand corner, so I can take the paper, re-insert it and then print the reverse side of the ID card on the same sheet of paper, but am not sure how to go about this. In "page setup", I can successfully change the orientation to landscape, but this doesn't help. I also can't seem to find any help in the printer setup section. I'm printing using an HP Officejet 6310. Is this possible using preview? I'm using OSX 10.4.11.


View 4 Replies (Posted: May 23, 2008)

Sponsored Links:

Related Forum Messages for Mac:
OS X Leopard :: Set Default Orientation When Printing
How can I set the default orientation to "portrait" when printing? It keeps jumping back to "landscape", even if I create a new preset and save it.Or if I choose "Last used settings" after having toggled to "portrait" last time I printed.

Information:
Mac G5
Mac OS X (10.5.8)
printer Brother MFC-5440CN

Posted: Jul 20, 2010

View 1 Replies!   View Related
OS X Leopard :: Preview, Photo Orientation Is Wrong After Fixing?
I have taken several pictures sideways with my camera. I opened them in preview and turned the orientation to right side up. I then save the files and load them onto my iPod touch. When I view them on the touch they are still sideways and not oriented correctly. Does anyone know how to fix this problem

Posted: Feb 20, 2009

View 4 Replies!   View Related
Mac Safari :: Printing Page Orientation And Scale Defaults Changed?
I've seen this problem referenced in older versions and it was suggested to either change the values in com.apple.print.PrintingPrefs or to delete it altogether. I looked for the equivalent values in my file but couldn't find anything similar to what had been suggested. I then backed up the file and deleted it. No joy. The file is restored but problem persists.

Information:
iMac Intel Core 2 Duo 2.4 GHZ
Mac OS X (10.5.8)

Posted: Mar 20, 2010

View 3 Replies!   View Related
Pages 09 :: How To Change Page Orientation
I would like to change page orientation for Just one page inside a document.

Say I have page 3 that I want to be landscape and not vertical, how can I do it?

I haven't been able to find this in Pages, I found it in Word though.

Information:
Macbook
Mac OS X (10.5.6)

Posted: Mar 13, 2009

View 7 Replies!   View Related
Pages 09 :: How To Change The Orientation Of A Section
I am new to Pages and cannot find how to change the page orientation of a new section. For example I have several pages of text that I want to print in portrait and then I want to put a table on the next page (next section) and have it print in landscape mode.

How do I do it?

Information:
iMac
Mac OS X (10.6.4)

Posted: Oct 8, 2010

View 6 Replies!   View Related
Keynote 09 :: Change Page Layout Orientation
I created a presentation, but now I want to change the page orientation to portrait instead of the default landscape. Anyone know how to do this?

Information:
Mac OS X (10.5.7)

Posted: May 20, 2009

View 1 Replies!   View Related
Pages 09 :: How To Change Individual Page Orientation
I'm using Pages 09 and Numbers 09 for a university project. In my write up I want to insert a table made in Numbers but the table would be best viewed horizontally. When I change the page orientation from the page setup it changes all the pages in the document so I was wondering if anyone knew how to change an individual pages orientation?

Information:
Macbook Black
Mac OS X (10.6.2)
iWork 09

Posted: Dec 9, 2009

View 7 Replies!   View Related
Numbers 09 :: How To Change Text Vertical Orientation
A silly question, but how the heck to I change to vertical text orientation. I've been staring myself blind searching for it.

I mean, if you merge a couple of cells in one column, instead of going horizontally, to go vertically within that column.

Information:
iMac 7,1
Mac OS X (10.6.2)

Posted: Feb 25, 2010

View 1 Replies!   View Related
Numbers 09 :: How To Change The Orientation Of Text Within A Cell
How can I change the orientation of text within a cell, like in Excel

Information:
iMac 9,1
Mac OS X (10.6.3)

Posted: Apr 19, 2010

View 4 Replies!   View Related
Software :: How To: Delay Printing Change Name Change Setting Of Printers
Q1: how can I delay printing? This was possible in OS9.

I have a thermal printer wich permits me to change the ribbon (Black, CMY, CMYK). If I have a mixed type of files to print, I'd put on hold (in the "print" window) the files that requires the unloaded ribbon while waiting for the other to print.

Of course, I can print all the CMYK, wait until it's done then print the B/W ones but I don't find it practical. Or I can also rush to the print center and hope to have the time to suspend manualy the ones that need it.

Q2: Once a printer is created, how can I change the associated ppd? This also was possible with OS9.

Q3: It is possible to change the printer name once it is created?

Posted: Apr 29, 2002

View 1 Replies!   View Related
OS X Leopard :: Printing 3 Per Page Using Preview?
I am trying to print pdf files for school but am unable to print 3 slides per page. The print settings only offer even numbers of slides per page.

Information:
Macbook pro
Mac OS X (10.5.6)
4gb ram

Posted: Jan 6, 2009

View 1 Replies!   View Related
OS X :: Printing In Landscape On Apple Preview?
How the hell do I print in landscape in Apple Preview.

I go to layout tab in the print menubox, and it has these 4 fancy diagrams, but none of them seem to mean landscape. Why isn't there a simple "Print landscape"/"Print portrait" button. At times like these I want to stick a rusty pole up Steve Jobs' bottom. Come back Microsoft - all is forgiven.

And also, why, once I click on "preview" (within the print menubox) to see what my settings look like - and I see it hasn't worked - I then have to reinput all of my settings again?

Posted: May 31, 2010

View 4 Replies!   View Related
OS X Leopard :: Preview Not Printing Many Installed Fonts
Since updating to OS 10.5, Preview won't print many fonts from my pdf documents. The odd thing is, Acrobat will! The fonts are all installed in my library, so I can't figure out why Preview won't recognize them when printing.

Information:
iMac Duo Core 2
Mac OS X (10.5.8)

Posted: Jul 26, 2010

View 1 Replies!   View Related
Applications :: Printing Specific Pages Out Of Preview?
When I'm in printing and want to print a specific page after viewing in Preview, is there a way to select from within Preview that certain page, or range of pages to print?

Posted: Jan 1, 2005

View 3 Replies!   View Related
OS X :: Printing PDF - Resizes In Firefox And Preview
I am trying to print a picture in a PDF. When I scale it in Preview or Firefox, it looks correct. When I hit print it's either bigger or smaller than the picture on screen. When I try to print from Preview, it resizes it, instead of just leaving it the original size and dumping it on the page somewhere. Basically, I have a picture that my niece drew for me. I am going to make it the image that goes on the front of a Shuttle PC I'm building for my mom to replace her Mini. (long story, but another Mini for me!) Does anybody have a hint on how I can get it to print without resizing or scaling to fit the page? Another part of the problem that is probably related... In Preview, it says the picture is less than 5x3, but it's 7x5.5. If I can get Preview to understand how big it really is, maybe it will print right.

Posted: Aug 3, 2009

View 2 Replies!   View Related
OS X Tiger :: Printing Jobs Stopped - Only Through Print Preview
I have what seems to be a very common problem on this forum, but with a very unusual circumstance. I work at a business where we have multiple computers hooked up to multiple printers. We just got a Canon multipurpose machine, and after speaking to them they told me it seemed like a problem for Mac. It seems that in every other circumstance for printing- its just fine. But when we are printing to the Canon, ONLY when we click print preview and then ok it to print, does it stop our job. We get the little printer icon with the red exclamation point with 'jobs stopped' on every single one of our computers that try this. We can print using print preview to any other printer in the system, and we can print to the canon just fine as long as we DONT use print preview. Our operating system across the board is Mac OS X 10.4.11.

Information:
Mac OS X (10.4.11)

Posted: Jun 5, 2009

View 1 Replies!   View Related
Pages 09 :: Printing To PDF - Margins Wrong In Preview
I don't know if this is connected to the latest Mac OS X v10.6.4 update, but some of my machines exhibit a very curious behaviour.
+ multiple pages A4 document
+ choose File > Print, click on "Save as PDF", under the PDF button
++ set pages 6 & 7 to print
++ set 2 pages per spread, so as to have Pages shrink the A4 document to somewhat A5, and have the two pages side-by-side on the same sheet
++ save the PDF

Then, when I open the PDF with Preview, the margins are all wrong (i.e. too big, there's too much white running around). And from Preview's inspector, I can tell that the Page Size is set to US Letter, although in Pages both the document size and the Printing Format are set to A4. The most curious part of the story is that my MacPro, my work MacBook Pro 13 and a white MacBook exhibit the problem, whereas my personal iMac 27" does not. And they are all running Mac OS X v10.6.4, with all the most recent updates, and the exact same version of Pages! I suspect that something has been changed in a framework somewhere.

Information:
iMac 27" - Core i7 - 4 GB - 2 TB
Mac OS X (10.6.4)
MacBook Pro 13" - Core2 - 2.4 GHz - 4 GB - 320 GB

Posted: Aug 19, 2010

View 6 Replies!   View Related
MacBook Pro :: Printing Pdfs From Preview Application?
i work in an architecture studio and am having difficulty printing our pdf drawings to actual 100% scale.

we use the print pdf function inside our drafting program and when opening the pdf inside of preview for printing, we print at 100% scale onto size A3 paper and then use our architectural scale to confirm the appropriate scale, it is off slightly and not a "true scaled" print.

We have attempted various troubleshooting techniques and have tripled-checked the appropriate dimensions inside of the drafting program. Could this be due to the preview program or the default save as pdf function inside the printing menu causing this roughly 98% smaller sized printout?

Information:
macbook pro
Mac OS X (10.6.5)

Posted: Nov 29, 2010

View 2 Replies!   View Related
Intel Mac :: Preview App Printing Oddly
I have a new printer (HP) and it prints well from most apps. But when I print a PDF from the Preview app it has no relation to the color in the document. If I open Acrobat it prints fine. I can't figure out what the problem is.

Info:
MacBookPro, Mac OS X (10.7)

Posted: Apr 21, 2012

View 1 Replies!   View Related
OS X Leopard :: Preview - Printing Multiple Images On Single Sheet
Apple indicates that is is now (in Leopard) possible to print several selected images on a single sheet of paper in Preview, but I am unable to get this to work. When selecting multiple images in the sidebar and selecting "Print selected images" from the File menu, Preview places each image on a separate sheet. Is anybody able to get this work in Preview (4+)?

Information:
Macbook Pro 2.4 (Core Duo)
Mac OS X (10.5.5)

Posted: Dec 4, 2008

View 1 Replies!   View Related
OS X Leopard :: Printing Or Saving Specific PDF Crashes Preview?
My VP e-mailed me a PDF this morning that she couldn't print. I opened it on my Mac, and I also couldn't print it. Every time either of us tries to print it, Preview crashes. It also crashes if I try to Save As.

I'm using the current aluminum MacBook, and she's using a MacBook Pro (two revisions before the current one). We both have 4 GB RAM, and we're both running 10.5.6.

Information:
Aluminum MacBook
Mac OS X (10.5.6)

Posted: Feb 7, 2009

View 2 Replies!   View Related
Snow Leopard :: Printing Large PDF On 8.5 X 11 Paper From Preview
I need to print a drawing that is about 16" square on 8.5 x 11 paper. The drawing is in PDF format. Taping several pages together is a perfectly fine solution for me, but I have not been able to figure out how to get Preview to print the image across several sheets of paper. By default, it shrinks the image to fit on one page. When I scale to 100%, it prints the image at the right scale, but only the portion that fits on one page. How can I get the entire drawing to print at its full size?

Information:
iMac 20" (2009)
Mac OS X (10.6.2)
MacBook (early 2008)

Posted: Feb 2, 2010

View 3 Replies!   View Related
OS X :: Saving And Printing PDF From Preview Creates Garbled Text?
Since I have installed SL, when I try to print to PDF from the print menu or save a PDF I'm viewing with Preview (for example) from a website, the text of the PDF is completely garbled/scrambled.

I don't have this problem when I use Acrobat 8 Pro only when I am using the OS PDF or saving and/or printing from Preview. I have cleared the font cache, but no solution.

Posted: Oct 7, 2009

View 5 Replies!   View Related
OS X :: Printing PDF From Preview - Colors Inverted In Snow Leopard
I have a PDF that I scanned in myself and the first time I printed it it printed just the way it was supposed to. The next time I opened up the file in preview it looked normal on my screen but when I went to print it the output in the printer had the colors inverted. I have tried printing from preview and adobe acrobat and it printed the same the blacks came out white and the whites came out black. So I tried printing it from a windows computer and the file printed as it should, the colors were normal not inverted.

Posted: Feb 20, 2010

View 1 Replies!   View Related
OS X V10.6 Snow Leopard :: Printing From Preview Keeps Scaling Images?
Despite setting the print dialogue pane to not scale the image, Preview persists in scaling it to fit the page.  How to fix?

Info:
2x2.4GHz Quad Core Mac Pro, iPhone 4, Mac OS X (10.6.8)

Posted: Feb 28, 2012

View 2 Replies!   View Related
OS X V10.7 Lion :: Collating Or Grouping Pages When Printing From Preview?
Just updated to lion and have found that I can no longer select or unselect the collate option when printing from preview.  The collate select button is available when printing from adobe reader or word, but it is nowhere to be found under any of the preview print options since the update. Has it been moved to some super secret location?   

I included the screen shots of adobe reader and preview print windows. The collate selection button in preview used to be located to the right of the # of copies window.   

Info:
Mac OS X (10.7.3)

Posted: Mar 27, 2012

View 3 Replies!   View Related
OS X V10.6 Snow Leopard :: Preview App Won't Save Paper Size For Printing?
How can I purge my print settings via .plist or other so I can change my paper size? No matter what I select, preview application 'refreshes' my print values to a fixed 8.5x11 that applies a second border to my pdf and pushes everything down the page. Borderless 8.5x11 just won't stay as the value even though my printer has done this before. Worked fine prior, but now it just will not take a new page size.

Info:
Preview Application, Mac OS X (10.6.8)

Posted: Feb 16, 2012

View 4 Replies!   View Related
OS X Leopard :: Is It Possible To Change Preview Image?
is it possible to change the image shown in informatins preview?I don't want to lost my warenty

Information:
MacBook Pro 2GB RAM 2,4Ghz Intel Core2Duo
Mac OS X (10.5.6)
iPod touch 2G, iPod shuffle 3G, Cinema Display 30"

Posted: Mar 29, 2009

View 5 Replies!   View Related
OS X :: How To Change Timings For Slideshow Preview
Does anyone know how to change the timing of the slideshow feature in the Preview app? I would like to change the time that each slide is viewed.

10.4.11
PPC

Posted: Dec 6, 2009

View 2 Replies!   View Related
OS X :: Using Preview To Change Gif Transparency
I got this gif here... I need to make the blue background transparent. Can preview do that?

Posted: Mar 17, 2009

View 11 Replies!   View Related
OS X Leopard :: Change Default Printing Preferences
I have a brother printer and I do most of my printing in the "toner save mode" and a lower resolution that the one set at default. So if I have to print 20 pages separately, I have to change the preferences every single time I print. So it gets frustrating. I went under preferences > Printer and Fax, and I didn't see anything that would allow me to change my default printing preferences. Why does this have to be so difficult? In windows it was so simple.

Information:
macbook 2.0Ghz
Mac OS X (10.5.6)

Posted: Feb 14, 2009

View 3 Replies!   View Related
OS X Leopard :: Way To Change Pages Printing Order?
Is there a way to change mails page printing order from automatic to reverse?

Information:
iMac DV
Mac OS X (10.5.7)
Intel Core 2 Duo, Epson Stylus Photo R280

Posted: Jul 23, 2009

View 2 Replies!   View Related
OS X :: Possible To Change Quality Of Resized Images With Preview?
Does anyone know if you can change the quality of a resized image with Preview? I've created a service to resize images down to 800px width, but most of the time the file size is as large as the original. This is resizing screenshots off my mbp (1440x900 res).

Posted: Sep 12, 2010

View 2 Replies!   View Related
Applications :: How To Change Preview Defaults To Mail
In Preview, when I select "Mail pdf" the program defaults to the Mail app, but I want to use Gmail. Can the choice of mail program be changed?

Posted: Jun 10, 2010

View 2 Replies!   View Related
Intel Mac :: How To Change Font In Preview
How do you change the font in Preview?The font the comes up is difficult to read and I can't find out how to change it.When I bring up the fonts it doesn't allow me to change it.I don't know where to change it from.

Info:
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010), Mac OS X (10.6.8)

Posted: Jun 17, 2012

View 4 Replies!   View Related
MacBook :: Change Printer Settings For Faster Printing?
We can't figure out how to change our printer settings to print in draft mode.  The system only allows for standard mode which is very slow printing.  Our HP Office Jet 4680 allows for draft mode printing.

Info:
MacBook, Mac OS X (10.5.8)

Posted: Mar 29, 2012

View 1 Replies!   View Related
OS X Leopard :: Preview - Change Duration Of Displayed Pictures?
is there a way to change the duration of diplayed pictures when I start a slideshow in Preview 4.2? Some kind of terminal line or something like that? Because there is no option in the preferences. I do not want to install 3rd party software because Preview got everything I want.

Information:
iMac, MacBook
Mac OS X (10.5.8)

Posted: Sep 29, 2010

View 2 Replies!   View Related
OS X V10.7 Lion :: Change File Preview In Finder?
So I just finished my latest short film, and I exported it to Finder. However I don't like the preview Finder chose for my video, it simply chose a random frame from my video and made that the preview of the file. I have a custom poster I made for the video I would like to make the preview of the file. I've look at other websites and they all mistook "preview" for icons. I am not talking about the icon of the file, I am talking about the actual preview of the file. If you open the Info pane of an image or a video file, there will be a tab under "Open With" named "Preview" and shows the preview thumbnail for the file. Can anyone tell me how I can manually change the preview of a file? I thought about importing the video into iTunes, change the cover art and take it out again, however because the file is encoded with Apple ProRes 4444 iTunes won't accept it and even if it did it would have been converted to other format, which is something I am trying to avoid and I would like to keep it ProRes 4444.

Info:MacBookPro, Mac OS X (10.7.2)

Posted: Apr 6, 2012

View 4 Replies!   View Related
OS X Leopard :: How To Change Movie File To Show Preview Picture
How you you change the "kind" of a file? I have a lot of movies on my computer and some of the files have a kind listed and you can see a preview of the movie (the little picture next to the files) but the others have no kind listed. They all have the same extension (.avi , .m4v ....) but only a few have a kind listed. I really want to have all the preview pictures next to files.

Information:
Macbook
Mac OS X (10.5.3)
Black

Posted: Aug 4, 2009

View 5 Replies!   View Related
Copyright 2005-08 www.BigResource.com, All rights reserved