Applications :: Preview Create New Document From PDF Highlights?

Sep 14, 2010

I'm a medical student and as such I have to read a lot of PDFs in Preview. I usually read the text and highlight as I go to mark the important stuff. I was wondering if there's a way to create a new document composed of only the stuff I highlighted. That way I would have a great study guide and I wouldn't have to re-type all the content. So to summarize:

Copy highlighted sections ONLY and paste selections into a new document

View 1 Replies


ADVERTISEMENT

Applications :: How To Add Pages To A Document In Preview

Jan 11, 2009

How do I add pages to a document in Preview Application ?

View 1 Replies View Related

Applications :: Preview To Display Hyperlinks In PDF Document?

Dec 24, 2009

How do I get Preview to display hyperlinks in a PDF document? I need to download a manual. When I click on the link in Safari, it only downloads the Table of Contents (1 p., 29KB). There are hyperlinks for each of the other 16 sections, but when I click on them, nothing happens, nothing further downloads, etc. How do I access the other sections?

View 2 Replies View Related

Applications :: Images In Mail Stopped Downloading In Document Preview

Apr 22, 2010

The images in mail have stopped downloading in the document preview and are now shown with a thumbnail. I have looked everywhere to change that setting but am unable to.

View 3 Replies View Related

OS X Mavericks :: (10.9.2) Adding Signature To A Document In Preview

Jun 3, 2014

I'm trying to add a signature to a document. I've discovered that I can do this in Preview. I've used the FaceTime camera to scan my signature, saved it and I can see it when I click on Tools > Annotate > Signature. I can't add it to my document though. I've read that I need Preview to Show Edit Toolbar but this option is greyed out. The Edit button on the toolbar is also greyed out. I created the document in Word. 

Info:
iMac, OS X Mavericks (10.9.2)

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X :: Fonts Tables And Figures Of A Pdf Document Look Fuzzy Under Preview?

May 27, 2009

I received an unpublished article in pdf format. On my MBP running 10.5.5, the tables, captions and figures looked fuzzy (out of focus) when I viewed the document using Preview. The main text looked fine. However, they all looked clear when I viewed the document using Acrobat Reader.

View 4 Replies View Related

OS X V10.5 Leopard :: Set A Preview Document To Print Limited Copies?

Jun 11, 2012

Is it possible to set a preview (PDF) document to print only a certain number of copies after which it would then become locked (password protected)?  

Info:
20" iMac G5 (PowerPC), Mac OS X (10.5.8), 2GB RAM

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X Mavericks :: How To Jump To Specific Page Of PDF Document In Preview

Sep 12, 2014

How can you jump to a specific page of a large PDF document without having to continuously scroll down on the thumbnail sidebar? 

Info:
iMac, OS X Mavericks (10.9.4)

View 1 Replies View Related

MacBook Pro :: Any Way To Change Scanned Recipes In Preview To A Document?

Dec 2, 2014

I have scanned a bunch of recipes to my Macbook Pro and they all went to the Preview.  The only problem is I can't copy or paste the recipes because, I guess, they are not in document form.  Is there any way to change the recipes in Preview to a document?  Or what would be the best way to scan recipes?  I need to be able to copy and paste. 

View 1 Replies View Related

OS X :: Lost Document Stacks - Create New One?

Feb 24, 2008

My document stack seems to have been lost i.e. I can't remember if I moved it or whatever or if it accidentally got removed. Is there a way to put it back on, or can I create a new one?

View 3 Replies View Related

Intel Mac :: Create A Text Document?

Mar 18, 2012

I'm trying to do some work from home, having only had my Mac for a week! I also need to create a CV for my husband?

Info:
iMac, Mac OS X (10.7.3)

View 6 Replies View Related

Intel Mac :: PDF Document Opened With Preview Does Not Show French Accents

Mar 24, 2012

They show a blank space for all the accented vowels.If I open the same document with Safari, it's the same. But with Chrome, it works perfectly. 

I assume there's a problem with fonts, but, nothing wrong with fontbook (checked duplicates for instance). 

Last information : it looks ok within chrome on my Imac, but the issue comes back when I try to print from chrome app...the accents are gone on the sheet. 

Info:
Imac Intel Alu 24" 2,4 Ghz, Mac OS X (10.6), Iphone 4 - ipad - Ipod 5G - Ipod Nano 2 and 3

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: When Open Document In Preview / It Also Opens Last Doc Viewed At Same Time

May 11, 2012

I'm finally getting used to the extra steps required to save a doc in Preview now (but I hate it). What I'm noticing now is that when I open a document in Preview, it also opens the last doc I viewed at the same time..If I wanted to see the old doc I would've double clicked it.I use Preview all the time.There is no Preference to disable this strange behavoir.

Info:
iPad, iOS 5.0.1, MacPro, MacBook Pro, iPad, iPhone

View 2 Replies View Related

MacBook Air :: Heavy Memory Loss Storage - When Saving PDF Document In Preview

Sep 1, 2014

I am currently editing lots of pdfs and other files for notes. There is one particular big file, ca. 300 MB (part of a book). When I edit this file in Preview (underlining etc.) and save my changes, I loose almost the whole size of the file in disk space.  

Saving 10 times, that equals ca. 3 GB. Since I am a diligent "back-upper", I loose ca. 3 GB every 90 minutes. Over the last 3 days, this has consumed more or less 40 GB of my storage space. I have restarted several times and had to delete a lot of files; the sleepimage file is ca. 1 GB big only, so that is not the problem;so I have used "Disk Utility" to localize the massive space use. 

Disk utility registers the storage loss in total numbers (35 GB free, next time only 32 GB free), but not within the folders (the single sizes of the folders -Application; Library; User etc-), their sizes stay the same!what happened to my disk space. I need to restore those 40 GB they are being used by something completely useless somewhere. 

Info:
MacBook Air, OS X Mavericks (10.9.4)

View 4 Replies View Related

MacBook Pro :: Can't Open Protocols Error Could Not Create A New Document

May 9, 2012

I can't open protools error could not create a new document because assertion in/volume/ development/w.s.Protools_10.1.2/Altura parts/DFW/MacBuild/../view/umenu.MacOS.mm.line 1351

Info:
MacBook Pro (15-inch Late 2011), Mac OS X (10.7.3)

View 1 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: Create Anchor's Or Tag's In A PDF Using Preview?

Mar 29, 2012

I've created a PDF with 15 Pages. I created the PDF using Pages and the document using "Page Layout" not "Word Processing". Since the document was created in Page Layout mode, I can not create anchors inside the document. 

I'm wondering if this is possible after converting the doc to PDF and using the Preview application.

View 3 Replies View Related

OS X Yosemite :: Create Double Arrows In Preview?

Dec 7, 2014

One would think this would be dead easy, but no. I've got a PDF that I need to draw a double arrow on. Placing an arrow is easy, but what the heck does the drop down menu do in the tool box that shows an icon for lines with arrows in both directions or double arrow lines. If I have the double arrow line selected and chose an new line I get nadda. If I chose an arrow I've already placed and go back to this drop down menu in the toolbox, I still see the double arrow line selected, but I've got nadda

View 2 Replies View Related

OS9/OS8/System 7 :: Enable Adobe PDF As Format Under LaserWriter 8 In Order To Create A .pdf Document?

May 21, 2012

How can I enable Adobe PDF as format under LaserWriter 8 in order to create a .pdf document?

Info:
Performa 5200, Mac OS 8.6 or Earlier

View 9 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: Create Keyboard Shortcuts In Safari And Preview?

Apr 10, 2012

I've been trying to create a keyboard shortcut for Preview (and perhaps it would work in Safari) so that when I click command and arrow up, the cursor will jump to the top of the document. For example, I'm reading on page 450 of a pdf file and want to go back to the top I'd have to grab the tiny, tiny doodah on the right side of the page and drag it all the way up. In Windows (I do have two Macs and two Windows PCs) you click on control-up arrow and it happens. I tried to modify the keyboard shortcuts in Lion and it does let me do it, but it doesn't work.

I click on System Preferences, Keyboard, Keyboard Shortcuts, Application Shortcuts. It gives me a choice to add a shortcut by clicking on the plus sign, then I I select Preview and it gives me the choice to write the Menu Title (this is probably the problem) and I write gototop (go to the top of document) and then on Keyboard Shortcut I press command and the up arrow. But it doesn't work. Where do I find the Menu Titles for all programs?

Info:iMac, Lion OSd have to grab the tiny, tiny doodah on the right side of the page and drag it all the way up. In Windows (I do have two Macs and two Windows PCs) you click on control-up arrow and it happens. I tried to modify the keyboard shortcuts in Lion and it does let me do it, but it doesn't

View 4 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: Create Signature In Preview Using The Built-in Isight Camera

May 14, 2012

I am trying to create my signature in preview using the built-in isight camera but nothing happens when I click "accept".

Info:
MacBook Air, Mac OS X (10.7.4)

View 1 Replies View Related

Applications :: Why Doesn't OSX Preview Work As Well As Windows' Preview Feature?

May 10, 2009

In Windows XP/Vista, if you are navigating in a folder containing pictures, and you click any picture, it opens up Windows built in preview program. Much like OSX. However, in Windows, you can click "Next/Previous" within that program to quickly flip through those photos. Why do the up & down arrows in OSX not work? I still prefer my iMac to any PC I have owned, but this one little thing bugs me to no end. Is there a setting I can change somewhere to make that work like in Windows?

View 10 Replies View Related

OS X :: Unable To Know About Blue Highlights

Oct 15, 2010

Getting rid of random blue highlighting by Nancy Holloway.

I posted a message a week ago on "Pure MAC newbie" forum, but no one has replied. How can I solve this problem? Or, if you don't know, where could I find the answer?

I'm using a new MacBookPro with Snow Leopard. After installing Parallels and Windows 7, the system started behaving weirdly (blue highlights show up randomly in Pages and email messages when I scroll up or down).

View 3 Replies View Related

MacBook Pro :: Highlights Randomly - How To Know About It

Oct 24, 2010

While surfing safari my macbook pro will randomly start highlighting wherever I move my cursor. It happens randomly and it is annoying because I can not get it to stop and it refuses to click on things because the text icon is displayed as it is in highlighting mode. I was wondering what is causing this and how I can stop it?

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: Hard Drive Space Being Used As A "preview Document"?

Jun 19, 2012

I'm assisting a friend with an issue that now perturbs me. He came to me noting that his HD has suddenly seen a huge jump in used space. I've seen that before due to several complications, so I needed to narrow it down. We also checked common issues, such as:Trash not emptied (he's rigorous on that)iPhoto separate Trash not emptied (he doesn't use iPhoto, but after checking it's got nothing as it is)Downloads not emptied (he provided me with the existing DL folder space, below. It's tiny relative to the space in question)Mail attachments issue: ~/user/Library is small. After asking for some extra information, I have this to start:

Surprisingly, "Other" is not the item causing the issue, or signifying it, which is usually the case for things like the recursive-Mail attachments issue. To double check, I also asked him to provide me with the ~/user contents so I could see if there was any mismatch. Note: HE IS THE ONLY USER ON THIS HARD DRIVE. He provided me with: APPLICATIONS 36.2mbDESKTOP 12.73mbDOCS 27.32mbDOWNLOADS 994.3 mbDROPBOX (synced to online only)GOOGLE DRIVE 414mbLIBRARY: 11.46gbMOVIES 783mbMUSIC 94.19 gbPICTURES 365 gb ~PUBLIC 0mSITES 0m 

Hence his confusion, since his pictures are showing as ~185GB smaller in his User than the stated size in the About This Mac. Note, the ~/user/Library folder is relatively in line with normal sizes, maybe a bit bigger (I checked, App Support is the main driver of this), but not the size we'd need to be taking up ~300GB. We were also able to glean this information through a third party app, it recognises an additional 193GB in "preview document" items, that, as you can see below, when broken down into the individual files appear to be mere copies of existing master images:

(The selected segment in the upper right, Preview Document, is then broken down in the bottom left. It's almost entirely pictures) 

Now I was under the impression Preview/Versions only take up a miniscule space on the HD since they don't FULLY copy the master file, they more create a bridge between the two that amounts to a few MB. Is it possible that it's taking up a much larger amount than intended here (a la the same basic mail attachment problem, but with Preview)? If so, what directory would that be located in? 

We have ALSO searched /Volumes to see if there's any hidden/phantom volume that was created and is eating up space. No such thing found, only MacHD and MobileBackups, which is showing as 0kb. In lieu of any other solution in future I might consider trashing it, but we'll see.  

We're currently re-indexing the Mac HD to see if we get any major changes in the numbers. Failing that, I'll be running an HD and permissions verification from the recovery system just to be sure. Once the index is done, I'll also have to check the other MacHD/master folders, i.e. System and Library and so on, in case there's something about them to tip me off--including simply being larger than expected. 

Again, I am a bit confused as I've never seen the space-eating problem be relegated to images alone, nor described as "previews". This one's new to me. So, what am I missing/not noticing/in need of?

Info:
MacBook
Pro, Mac OS X (10.7.4), Fully updated, no previous issues

View 6 Replies View Related

MacBook Pro :: Save Pictures Directly As JPEG Instead Of Having To Save Them As Preview Document

Nov 30, 2014

When I right click to save a picture online, it doesn't give me the opportunity to save something as a JPEG. I instead have to save it as a preview and then export it to JPEG. This seems like something relatively new.

Info:
OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.3)

View 4 Replies View Related

Applications :: Picture Looks Different In Finder Preview Than In Preview App?

May 23, 2009

Whats up. I have a picture which someone has edited to make funny. The edited picture shows up in Preview the application with a text box saying something. But in Finder's preview I see the raw picture. Whats going on there and how do i see the full picture the way Finder's Preview sees it.

Yes it's a picture a lady friend sent me

View 4 Replies View Related

Software :: Text Accidentally Highlights And Deletes

Dec 30, 2009

Working from OS 10.4.11 on PowerBook G4, iMac G5, and (early) MacBook. Have noticed while working in Entourage 2004, and possibly in other applications, not sure, that from time to time while typing I will accidentally press a key with my right hand, some key in the vicinity of the 'return' key, which will cause a contiguous string of text to be highlighted and deleted. It happens so quickly that I can never tell which key(s) I pressed to make this happen.

I think what actually happens is that the accidental keypress is causing the highlighting and then as I continue to type the highlighted text is of course deleted.

I can recover from this (once I notice it) by pressing command-z, but would like to prevent it from happening as I can lose other edits done before I notice the accidental deletion. If I knew what keystroke is responsible I might be able to disable it, or at least knowing might help me to avoid it.

I've done many google searches and have found nothing relevant. Have also searched these forums and the archive of MacFixIt forums and have found nothing.

View 5 Replies View Related

Hardware :: Fascinating Motion Magazine Demo Highlights IPad's Potential?

Mar 18, 2010

Tablet devices, and more specifically Apple's iPad, are bound to forever alter the landscape for print and digital publishers, as evidenced by captivating concepts such as motion magazines like one being worked on by Alexx Henry Photography for Viv magazine (videos included).

Together with co-directors Cory Strassburger and Ming Hsiung, the firm recently produced a so-called "motion magazine cover" and feature spread for the all digital magazine, enabling it create content that will come to life on the iPad and other tablet devices where digital magazines are expected to thrive.

In a behind the scenes video covering the making of the motion cover that was sent to planet5D, Alexx Henry and partner Andrew Gant describe how they were able to "put motion into print" in ways never seen before.

The living art interactive motion spread was shot with Red Digital's latest RED ONE camera and new Mysterium-X sensor, allowing them to capture the energy of a still-life action shoot with the motion of a blockbuster film. In addition to action spreads, this enables them to "present a story" to readers before the final frame of their motion covers.

The production team shot all of their living models on a green screen at a high frame rate and slowed them down, so when the action stops, the textual article can appear. After constructing their own 3D environment, they composited the photography and did all the camera moves.The end result is a motion spread that sends readers on a journey, introducing them to each article while giving them time to read or the freedom to move on at their own pace.

"As photographers, we can build off the foundations that work really well in print, because in the end, we aren't making moving pictures," Henry says. "That's what movies do. We're creating pictures that move.

View 39 Replies View Related

MacBook Pro :: Embed An Image With A Link Or A Microsoft Word Document With A Hyperlink Built Within The Document?

Feb 2, 2012

how to embed an image with a link, or embed a Microsoft Word document with a hyperlink built within the document -- not as an attachment into my email -- but where it shows as the email content when opened! Does ANYONE know the secret? Can it be done, or not? My PC clients do it all the time easily. Then I want to be able to send the embedded image/document (not as an attachment, but visable within the email when opened) to many email contacts at once, BUT the individuals receiving them DO NOT SEE the other email contacts.

Info:
MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.7.2)

View 1 Replies View Related

OS X :: Mail Attachments In Body Of Email - Document Icon With The Name Of Document?

Aug 6, 2010

just wondering if anyone knows how to stop attachments in the email i am sending from appearing in the body of my email as the full sized document.i am hoping to find an option that will allow me to only have a document icon with the name of the document.

View 1 Replies View Related







Copyrights 2005-15 www.BigResource.com, All rights reserved