OS X :: Preview Not Working - Opens But Does Not Show

Mar 13, 2010

All of the sudden Preview is not working. It opens but does not show the pdf. Running SL on an Intel Mac.

View 16 Replies


ADVERTISEMENT

OS X :: Clicking To Preview A Song In Amazon MP3 Now Opens The Preview In ITunes?

Jul 22, 2010

I'm sure I changed some setting somewhere, but this is a bit annoying. Before buying a song in Amazon MP3, to preview, I click the little play button - it used to play in the browser... now it plays it in iTunes. Anyone know what the issue might be? I'm forced then to remove the link it adds to my iTunes library after every preview.

View 3 Replies View Related

Software :: Icons Keep Disappearing / Opens In Color Sync Instead Of Preview

Dec 14, 2010

Ok I have been trying to find the reason why this is happening. I am having an issue with the icons disappearing, the file is still there and you can click on it if you click on the words, but the icon is not there just the icon is gone. The icon that is not showing up is the folder icon primarily. I have searched several different sites and can not find an answer to my problem. I have included a link to view what my desktop looks like with the files pictured so you get an idea.

http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b3...k/Picture3.png

I have tried to do the equivalent of a (rebuild desktop) desktop reset which was a program I downloaded from apple:

http://www.apple.com/downloads/macos...s/xupport.html

It did not help either and after installing that and doing the reset. Now when I go to open a picture, it opens in color sync instead of preview. The only way I can open a picture in preview is to open preview and then open a picture through itIt is like color sync is the default for some reason. Does someone know how to fix this? But my main concern is tis icon issue I am having. I don't know what to do as it is making it very hard to work. This even carries over to my external drives when hooked up. I need help as I do not know why it is doing this

As far as other information, I just installed Tiger a few months ago if that helps any and this is on a mac mini. Other than that everything has been the same. I have relaunched the finder through opt+cmd+esc but it is not available to relaunch through right clicking the icon on the dock. Also it no longer allows me to drag a picture file over a program like Photoshop in the dock to open it in Photoshop. What is going on here?

View 6 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: When Open Document In Preview / It Also Opens Last Doc Viewed At Same Time

May 11, 2012

I'm finally getting used to the extra steps required to save a doc in Preview now (but I hate it). What I'm noticing now is that when I open a document in Preview, it also opens the last doc I viewed at the same time..If I wanted to see the old doc I would've double clicked it.I use Preview all the time.There is no Preference to disable this strange behavoir.

Info:
iPad, iOS 5.0.1, MacPro, MacBook Pro, iPad, iPhone

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: When Open A Photo With Preview, It Opens All The Photos Have Viewed Previously

Jun 27, 2012

When I open a photo with Preview, it opens all the photos I have viewed previously.  How can I prevent that, other than manually clearing the list after each time?

Info:
MacBook, Mac OS X (10.7.4)

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X Mountain Lion :: Preview Opens Hundreds Of Files As Unsaved Images

Jun 29, 2014

Computer details:

13" Macbook Pro - mid-2012 (9.2)

2.9 GHZ

750 GB Hard Drive

8 GB RAM

OS: 10.8.2 

I tried to open a single image in Preview (Version 6.0.1 (765.4)). Instead, it opened just over 500 images (out of 2300 on the hard drive) as "Untitled 1" "Untitled 2" etc. Over three hundred of those were grouped in a single window (that is, one of them was visible large, with thumbnails of all in the "drawer"). Why it opened the files as "Untitled", nor, in fact, why it opened them at all. I had only clicked on one to open it. I quit Preview, but upon reopening, all the "Untitled" images were back. The same thing happened when opening Preview after restart. The only way I could get rid of them was to close their windows one at a time. Of course, when closing something that's unsaved, the computer asks whether to save it or not, but I cannot click Command-D (as in previous systems), I have to click the Don't Save button each and every time. This takes ages with so many windows open. 

Well, since I had no choice, I did that for the couple hundred images that had opened in their own window(s). Then I tried to close the images in the single window. I would do Command-W, then click Don't Save. The dialog closed, but the image didn't go away. Then a new Save dialog box would open with a different "untitled" number specified, and I would do it again. And again. And again. The images, however, did not disappear. Then I saw that the names (Untitled 101, Untitled 204, etc) of some of the images I had previously attempted to close were coming back again. They had not actually closed. I could not get rid of that window with three hundred images open in it. If I quit Preview, then reopened it, ALL of the 500 plus images opened again, even the ones I had successfully closed. The application is now useless until I find a fix. 

View 5 Replies View Related

OS X :: Preview Doesn't Show .gif Animation

Feb 10, 2006

I'm not sure if it's called "Preview", the standard program for viewing pictures in Tiger. But when I open a .gif file with, for example 36 frames, it won't play the animation. I can select every frame but it won't play the whole animation. I already checked the Help menu, but it didn't work. I can drag the file to Safari, but that's not the way I want to view .gif files.

View 24 Replies View Related

OS X :: Dashboard Opens But The Widgets Aren't Working?

Nov 2, 2009

I have a new mac OS 10.6.1, and the dashboard doesn't work. It opens, but the widgets aren't working.
Any ideas as to how to fix this?

View 7 Replies View Related

Applications :: PDF File With Preview Attachments Do Not Show Up

Apr 6, 2010

I have a PDF file that I know has attachments in it, but when I open the PDF file with Preview the attachments do not show up, nor does it even seem possible to view them (I know they are there because I can see them using Windows Foxit PDF reader). Does anyone know if this is possible with Preview or will I have to get the Adobe Reader? I dread getting anything adobe because on Windows computers their software is so bloated and a resource hog.

View 2 Replies View Related

ITunes :: Find Something In It And Have It Show Up In Preview On A Webpage?

May 9, 2012

How do I find something in iTunes and have it show up in iTunes Preview on a web page? More specifically, how do I find all books from one publisher?

View 12 Replies View Related

Intel Mac :: Mac Mail Not Working Properly - It Opens A New Tab In Chrome

Mar 23, 2012

Whenever i click on an email on the web (like Craigslist), instead of opening mail (yes its running) it opens a new tab in chrome (i haven't messed w/ the chrome settings) and brings me to my email sign in. I have tried quitting and also restarting my computer.

Info:
iMac, Mac OS X (10.6.8), imac 17" 1.83GHz, 2GB RAM

View 3 Replies View Related

Intel Mac :: PDF Document Opened With Preview Does Not Show French Accents

Mar 24, 2012

They show a blank space for all the accented vowels.If I open the same document with Safari, it's the same. But with Chrome, it works perfectly. 

I assume there's a problem with fonts, but, nothing wrong with fontbook (checked duplicates for instance). 

Last information : it looks ok within chrome on my Imac, but the issue comes back when I try to print from chrome app...the accents are gone on the sheet. 

Info:
Imac Intel Alu 24" 2,4 Ghz, Mac OS X (10.6), Iphone 4 - ipad - Ipod 5G - Ipod Nano 2 and 3

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X V10.6 Snow Leopard :: Preview Show Text Of An Annotation In Sidebar

May 11, 2012

I have several PDF docs with several annotations in them. When I show the sidebar in Preview it lists page, type, date, and author, but does not display the words in the annotations!With a long of annotations that only identify themselves by "Text", it's laborious to find the note one is looking for. (One has to manually step through each one at a time!)

Info:MacBook Pro early 2008, Mac OS X (10.6.8), Time for a new computer!

View 1 Replies View Related

Mac Mini :: Dock Opens Up Applications Folder / Firefox Not Working Fine

Aug 8, 2009

I have a late 2009 mac mini - 2.26 ghz, 2gb ram, 160gb hdd yadda yadda.

It was working fine until this morning. Whenever I click on an application in the dock, it opens up the applications folder. And whenever I click a link in firefox, it opens in a new tab, and is incredibly annoying!

View 11 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: Print Window Doesn't Show Preview Button Anymore

Feb 15, 2012

This button allowed (in Snow Leopard and even in Tiger) to see the final page full size, or even to save as a PDF file. This functionality is sadly missing on my computer since I have upgraded to LION, making me regret the move. Is there some pref somewhere that I should adjust, or just plainly forget about it. ? When I print, the dialog window does NOT show the Preview button anymore.

I am on a MacBook Pro 17".

View 3 Replies View Related

OS X Mavericks :: Double Click No Longer Opens Folders - But Opens Desktop

Jun 26, 2014

Starting a few days ago when I double click a folder on the desktop it no longer opens.  Instead, I am taken to a new desktop window that shows the folder clicked plus all other items on the desktop.  How do I restore the double click to open the folder?  I have tried resetting the double click speed with no results. 

View 1 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: When Will Finder Show A Thumbnail Or Preview Of The Raw File Images From The Canon 5d Mark Iii

May 23, 2012

I am wondering if anyone has an update on when finder will show a thumbnail for the raw files from the Canon 5d mark III? I've done all the updates possible and nothing has changed, I can't do a quick preview either, it just shows the extension image, not the actual image taken. (The symbol for crw).

Info:
MacBook, Mac OS X (10.7.3)

View 1 Replies View Related

PowerPC :: Preview 3.0.9 Not Working At All

Jun 12, 2010

Preview just randomly stopped working, when I open a file (try to anyway) it shuts down as soon as the app name comes up. I already searched the forums and deleted the Preference .plist files as suggested which apparently worked for that person, but not for me. I can't find anything anywhere on this, not even a .dmg for Preview, what can I do?

View 10 Replies View Related

OS X :: Picture Preview Not Working In A System?

Oct 31, 2009

I've installed snow leopard on my mbp, I've had SEVERAL issues, one being that I can't preview images anymore when I'm uploading them in facebook or blogger, what have you. When you hit the browse button on a website to find the photo, you get the typical file browser, but instead of thumbnails, I get the mac .jpg icon with the .jpg names, no preview.

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: Preview Not Working Correctly?

May 22, 2012

Recently, whenever I open a PDF file with Preview, the file opens fine, but the app itself is unresponsive.  I can use shortcuts (to close the program or window, or to open other files), but when I use a mouse or trackpad I am unable to click anything in the app, even the menu bar.  I can scroll through the PDF documents, but I am unable to highlight text.  I have all updates, and Preview is working fine if I switch to another user.  I have tried to Repair Permissions, to add my user account to the Sharing and Permissions category under the finder, and I have tried deleting the preferences file in Library to no avail. 

Info:
MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.7.4)

View 2 Replies View Related

Applications :: Search Function In Preview Not Working

Dec 28, 2009

When I search for certain words, it won't find any. When I type in a letter, it searches for the wrong letter or symbol. For example, if I type in "A" it searches for "C" and when I search for "C"it searches for "N". What's wrong?

View 6 Replies View Related

MacBook Pro :: Preview Dock Program Not Working

Jul 31, 2010

What does it do? When I click it nothing opens?

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X Mavericks :: Preview Program Has Not Been Working Properly

Jun 3, 2014

About a week ago my preview program has not been working properly.  Whenever i try and put text into my pdf documents the preview program shows the ‘spinning wheel of death’ at the point of saving…(I don’t know what else to call that multicoloured candy-looking spinning thing) It does not freeze up with ALL pdf…just some of them.  I was thinking about deleting preview and then reinstalling it..but my mac system does not allow me.   One perhaps important thing is:  when i edit the ‘stubborn’ pdf files, and then press ‘save’ nothing happens.  I have to press save twice…then the program becomes inactive. 

Info:
Mac Pro, Mac OS 9.0.x

View 4 Replies View Related

MacBook Pro :: Preview (export) Stopped Working?

Aug 21, 2014

Recently (i.e the last couple of days) I continually get an error message from preview/export saying "<filename>" cannot be exported as "<filename>". 

Info:
MacBook Pro (15-inch Late 2011)

View 1 Replies View Related

OS X :: Adobe Bridge CS4 And Full Screen Preview Not Working?

Oct 21, 2009

I was wondering if anyone has heard of this problem and has a solution. So I opened Bridge CS4 (Snow Leopard is my OS) and selected a photo. Clicking on View - Full screen Preview on the menu bar doesn't show the picture full screen, and pushing space bar to view a full screen preview doesn't work either. What happens is that when I push space bar to get a full screen preview, the entire menu bar at the top of the screen and the dock disappears. So I'll click the desktop, and they reappear, but once I click Adobe Bridge, they disappear again. So I have to alt-q to quit adobe bridge to see the main application menu bar.

View 4 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: Pinter Preset Not Working Fine With Preview App

Jun 22, 2012

We have new KONICA MINOLTA C360. We are using a printing presets that include an "ID & Print" mode.The users have to authenticate on the printer to release their prints. It works fine, but not with Preview.app.Its seems Preview (under Lion) won't use printer presets unless you open one of the submenu and select an other submenu than the 'preview' settings. Otherwise the printer reject the job.Why Preview don't use the preset? I check permissions on the com.apple.print.custompreset.plist and it seems Ok.

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X Yosemite :: Resize Photos Option In Preview Not Working

Dec 1, 2014

I use Preview to resize my photos depending on where I'm posting or sending to. Since I've downloaded Yosemite I will resize photo  and it's not working. I have my photos in iCloud drive & am working between an iMac and a iMac Pro. I'm trying to resize to send out to  have printed vs. at home printing. This problem has only happened since upgrading to Yosemite.

Info:
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2012), OS X Yosemite (10.10.1), also using iMac 27"

View 1 Replies View Related

OS X :: Unable To Work With Snow Leopard Preview App / Working With Pdf Files

Oct 14, 2009

I have a pdf file, I want to copy certain pages from to a new file and rename the pages afterwards.
This is the awkward behavier, preview.app gives me, trying to do so:

It does not let me create a new pdf out of the program (command + N or file/new file) - why?
Instead, I have to drag one of the pages I want on the desktop, to create a new pdf file there.

Once I created a new pdf and dragged the wanted pages into my new file, I cannot rename the pages, which have now meaningless names including "(dragged)" in the middle. I have found no logical way, to rename these pages - why?

Do not ever plan, to save time in just selecting more than one page, to drag and copy over to your new pdf - you will end up with an alias in your sidebar of the new pdf file, which of no reason making sense to me is undeletable - which means - start over again!

View 8 Replies View Related

OS X Mountain Lion :: Quicklook Preview For Fonts Just Stopped Working

Jun 2, 2014

why hitting spacebar no longer previews fonts/typefaces. It worked as of last Friday (today being Monday). I have restarted many times, repaired permissions, used FontNuke to clear caches, and have also cleared/relaunched Quicklook caches with the

-qlmanage -r
-qlmanage -r cache
-commands in Terminal.  

Info:
MacBook Pro, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.4), 2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon

View 1 Replies View Related

Show In Finder Not Working In Safari 5.1.3

Feb 5, 2012

After combo update to 10.7.3, in Safari 5.1.3 the "show in finder" magnifying glass will not open my downloads folder to show downloaded files.That is, if I have invoked "Show Downloads" from the View menu in Safari and then hover over the magnifying glass, you see a "show in finder" in gray under the downloaded file's name. In the past, clicking the magnifier then would open a Finder window and highlight the downloaded file.

Info:
Mac Pro (Early 2009), Mac OS X (10.7.3)

View 14 Replies View Related







Copyrights 2005-15 www.BigResource.com, All rights reserved