Applications :: How To Stop Preview From Automatically Opening Photos

Nov 21, 2009

I am a new Mac user (had my macbook for 2 weeks, loving it, but still learning how to use it). I am really annoyed by Preview app. Anytime I save a photo in my Download folder, it automatically opens it with Preview, whether I want it or not. When I quit Preview, it still opens the next time I download a photo. I can't find anywhere in Preview options such option to disconnect automatic opening of photos. How do I turn it off please?

View 2 Replies


ADVERTISEMENT

OS X Mountain Lion :: How To Stop Some Applications Automatically Opening At Start Up

Jun 5, 2014

There is probably a very simple answer to this - but I can't find it! Everytime I start up my imac, a couple of tedious applications that take a long time have to open then I have to close them to get on with what I want to do.

How do I stop these loading automatically?

Info:
iMac, OS X Mavericks (10.9.3)

View 4 Replies View Related

Intel Mac :: While Turning Computer On How To Stop Lots Of Applications Opening Automatically

Mar 14, 2012

How do I stop several applications opening when I turn my mac on?

Info:
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010), Mac OS X (10.7.2)

View 1 Replies View Related

MacBook Pro :: Stop Preview From Auto-Opening?

Apr 17, 2012

Whenever I am on facebook or on the internet and I click to donload a file it downloads to my downloads folder but then the second it finished preview pops up with the picture open. How do i stop preview from doing this?

Info:MacBook Pro (13-inch Early 2011), Mac OS X (10.7.2)

View 1 Replies View Related

Safari :: Stop From Opening 99 Tabs Automatically

Apr 21, 2012

When I first start up Safari - it automatically opens a huge number of tabs (the drop down menu on a tab right click shows an option to bookmark 99 tabs - and there are more tabs opened than I care to count). They appear to all be existing bookmarks; but could also be history.

At one point it would not let me close it at all & because it wouldn't close the OS would not allow a shutdown. So I had to do a hardware power off instead.

I played around with the setting and finnally - after severl hard reboots and a lot of try this & try that - I got it to allow itself to be closed. 

But the 99+/- auto opens continue to be a problem.  I've tried to completely clear my history, and several other property adjustments - but overall the behaviour remains very very flakely. 

I want to make it my default browser on all my Apple things (Macbook / iTouch / iPad) but the very bad behaviour keeps pushing me back to Firefox - sigh. It feels like a very bad user design that cannot be trusted. 

Are there some obvious know gotcha's with this browser? Or some standard settings that should never be touched? Or are these common bugs that just don't work right?

Info:
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2010), Mac OS X (10.7.3)

View 4 Replies View Related

OS X Mavericks :: 10.9.3 - How To Stop Apps Automatically Opening When Log In

Jun 17, 2014

on OSX 10.9.13 how do i stop things automatically opening e.g.. mail, messenger when I log in?

Info:
iMac, OS X Mavericks (10.9.3)

View 6 Replies View Related

Safari :: Stop It From Automatically Opening Last Browsing Session?

Jun 28, 2012

Is there a way to prevent Safari from opening all your previous tabs and windows? When I close Safari I just want everything to close as well, but when I open it later everything else opens again.

Info:MacBookPro, Mac OS X (10.7.4)

View 5 Replies View Related

MacBook Pro :: How To Stop Safari Automatically Opening Multiple Pages

May 21, 2012

When I click to open safari on my new MacBook Pro it opens multiple windows at once. How can I stop this?

Info:
MacBook
Pro

View 1 Replies View Related

Mac Mini :: Stop Preview Program To Open Automatically Every Picture On Hard Drive?

Apr 5, 2012

So this Preview opens automatically every picture on hard drive when I open the program. I haven't found any way to stop it.

Info:
Mac mini

View 3 Replies View Related

App Store :: Stop Mac Store From Opening Automatically?

May 4, 2012

The Mac Store keeps opening automatically when I'm using Safari.how to stop this?

View 1 Replies View Related

Applications :: Opening PDF With Preview In Firefox?

Jul 3, 2010

when i click on a pdf in firefox, it opens it in preview, but i also find the file in my downloads. i like how the pdf opens in a separate preview window, but it's a hassle to have to keep deleting the file from downloads after i view it.

View 3 Replies View Related

Applications :: How To Get IPhoto To Stop Opening

Aug 29, 2010

Where is the setting to stop iPhoto from opening up when I insert an SD card or connect a camera?

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: Stop All Applications Opening Up When First Log In?

Apr 8, 2012

I have a new mac.  How do I stop all applications opening up when I first log in?

Info:
iMac

View 2 Replies View Related

Applications :: How To Get Aperture Stop Starting Automatically

Mar 22, 2009

How do you get it to stop starting when I plug in my camera/iPod?

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X :: Can Stop Opening Applications Forcing Their Way To The Front

Jan 8, 2010

iPhoto, for example, takes about 30secs to open. If I'm using Safari and decide I want to upload a photo, opening iPhoto and then going back to Safari simply means that iPhoto will jump to the front with it's big, blank screen and spinning beachball five or six times. It's like fighting with my Mac. It's like I'm constantly clicking back to Safari and then a few seconds later my Mac will pop it to the front as if to say "You wanted iPhoto, so here's iPhoto - watch it open."

It's very annoying. Can I set something to allow applications to load in the background?

View 8 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: Stop Applications From Opening When Login?

Mar 9, 2012

Every time I log in to my account, all of the applications I previously had open start up automatically.  This takes a long time and there is a reason I closed the applications when I logged out.  Is there a way to stop this from happening? Also, every time I open up Quicktime, it also opens the past video's I had opened. This is also really annoying.

Info:
Mac OS X (10.7.3)

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: Stop Applications From Opening At Startup In It?

Jun 1, 2012

When I log in using Lion, Mail, Entourage, and ICal open on my desktop.I already tried unchecking the restore windows box under system preferences/general; sometimes it works, and sometimes it doesn't.  The only way to stop it seems to be to uncheck the similar box that appears when you shut down the computer, but you have to do it each time, and I think it doesn't always work either.  The options features in the dock items don't seem to work--they're already unchecked, and the windows still open.  I don't want everyone else in my family to see my mail as soon as the computer opens and it's really annoying besides. 

Info:
MacBook (13-inch Mid 2010), Mac OS X (10.6.8)

View 2 Replies View Related

When Start Up IMac Several Applications Launch Automatically / How To Stop This

Apr 1, 2012

when I start up my iMac several applications launch automatically, how can I stop this?

Info:
iMac

View 1 Replies View Related

Applications :: Any Way To Stop Text Edit From Opening At Startup?

Jan 24, 2009

I've deleted a recently downloaded text file but for some reason text edit launches when I turn on my mac! How do I stop this?

View 10 Replies View Related

Applications :: Using An FTP / SFTP App Call Cyberduck - Stop Connect Automatically?

Mar 17, 2009

I have been using an FTP/SFTP app call cyberduck. It is good and it works except for one thing. When I open the app it connects to all my bookmarks. Is there a way to stop this?

View 3 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: Can't Stop Applications Automatically Starting In User Account

Jun 1, 2012

Parental control is active, but no restrictions on which applications they can use; just website restrictions and time limits.Allowed them to modify the dock.Each time they log in various applications automatically start and removing them from the startup list does not seem to solve the problem, and one is not even on the list.The "re-open windows" check box is NOT selected when they log out and I watched them quit the applications before logging out.

Example: for one account iTunes Helper always shows up on the startup list... I try to remove it in their account and it just pops back up... this appears to cause iTunes to autostart each time the log in... annoying.

Example: same account, the System Preferences always start up... fortunately it is locked so the kid can modify anything. But again, annoying.

Info:iMac, Mac OS X (10.6.7)

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X Tiger :: Finder Windows Opening At Start Up / Prevent Finder From Automatically Opening?

Nov 29, 2010

I recently added a NAS with four main partitions (recognizes them as drives). Now, when ever I start up my mac, finder opens four panes, one for each drive. Is there any way I can prevent finder from automatically opening?

mac mini running 10.4, iomega network drive attached to linksys wireless router.

Information:
Mac OS X (10.4.11)

View 4 Replies View Related

Software :: Preview Is Not Opening Anything?

Mar 22, 2010

Preview is not opening anything. Merely double click an image, or clicking Preview to open it makes my computer lag severely for up to 2 minutes. Is there any way I can uninstall and re-download it, or fix this problem? Not sure if this is related, but opening my Applications folder has the same effect, but not for nearly as long or severe, maybe just about 20 seconds. It seems opening ANY folder with "Preview" in it results in freezing up. It's starting to get really annoying, but I've downloaded a replacement image viewer until the problem is fixed.

View 3 Replies View Related

OS X :: Preview Not Opening FDF Files Or Images?

Sep 22, 2010

Recently the preview program has stopped working. I cannot open PDF files or image files, i.e. jpeg. The only thing I can think of that I've done recently is installing a program called "MailRaider." I just uninstalled it using a program called "Appdelete."

I tried this suggestion from the apple discussion forum that did not work:

Go to the finder, find one of the PDFs you can not open. then click on that PDF one time. go to the file menu, chose get info from the file menu. the inspector window that pops up will include a section on open with. expand that section and click on the open with menu and chose preview. then click the "Change All.." button.

all PDF should now open with preview. you can repeat this process with jpegs, gifs, tifs, pngs, extra as needed.

What else can I try? Do I need to reinstall the preview application? If so, how do I do that?

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X :: Opening Preview To View The Same PDF In 2 Windows?

Sep 30, 2009

i was wondering if you can open 2 different previews to view the same pdf. i have alot of pdf books and i want to be able to have the question and the section from the book open instead of scrolling all day back and forth. i have tried using safari to open the 2nd window but using safari temps me too much to just search the web instead of do my homework.

View 3 Replies View Related

MacBook Air :: Preview Opening All Pictures At Once?

Mar 28, 2012

The preview is open my all pics of my computer. It should open one by one. What should I do to fix it?

Info:
MacBook Air, Mac OS X (10.4.11)

View 4 Replies View Related

OS X :: Preview Not Opening Any Images - No Restriction On Permissions

Feb 22, 2009

Preview will still open .pdf, but not .jpg. It happened suddenly, no rhyme or reason. I've checked the info on the .jpgs, there's no restriction on the permissions that should keep them from opening, and Preview is selected as the app to open them. I've tried trashing the .plist, repairing permissions, and restarting. No dice. I'm running 10.5.6, and haven't installed anything recently.

View 5 Replies View Related

MacBook :: Preview Started To Quit Upon Opening?

Mar 9, 2012

How to fix Preview?It quits upon opening and has done so for the last three months - previous few years it was fine.

Info:
Mac OS X (10.7.3)

View 1 Replies View Related

Intel Mac :: Get Preview To Automatically Read PDF's Instead Of Adobe Reader?

Apr 21, 2012

How do I get Preview to automatically read PDF's instead of Adobe Reader?

Info:
iCloud, iCloud vs. Mobile Me

View 2 Replies View Related

MacBook Air :: Forcing Preview To See Downloaded PDFs Automatically

Jun 22, 2014

Forcing preview to see downloaded pdf's automatically. Safari downloads these but preview doesn't open it unless forced. My other MB air downloads them and automatically opens them in th media viewer of Safari. 

MB air 11' OS 10.7

View 1 Replies View Related







Copyrights 2005-15 www.BigResource.com, All rights reserved