Tracking Forums, Newsgroups, Maling Lists
Home Scripts Tutorials Tracker Forums
  Advanced Search
  HOME    TRACKER    mac


Advertisements:






OS X :: Filling Out Pdf Forms In Preview


I downloaded the latest tax forms from the IRS in pdf form, and filled out all my tax information using preview. When I finished, I saved the form, but all the data I entered was lost. Can you not fill out pdf forms in preview? I did find a workaround. I filled in some data, then "printed" to a pdf file, and that saved all the entered data. Any insight into this issue?


View 7 Replies (Posted: Feb 10, 2008)

Sponsored Links:

Related Forum Messages for Mac:
OS X :: Filling Out PDF Forms?
my Dad has to fill out some forms and they are available online in PDF format. He can edit them in Safari, but once we save the forms we are unable to edit them. The weird thing is when I first save it I could edit it, but once I saved it again it wouldn't let me change anything. This is very strange, I've tried Preview and Adobe Reader.

Posted: Apr 14, 2007

View 3 Replies!   View Related
OS X :: Add Text To Forms In Preview?
My employer sent me a form in .pdf form to fill out and send back. How can I fill out the form in Preview and send it back instead of having to print, complete, scan and re-send the form?

Posted: May 27, 2009

View 3 Replies!   View Related
MacBook :: PDF Forms Not Opening From Link - Page Comes Up Blank
When on a company's webpage, I click on the link to a form. The page comes up blank. When I do this on another computer (HP desktop) the form shows up fine. Is there a setting problem with my MacBook that I can fix?

Info:
MacBook, Mac OS X (10.6.8)

Posted: Apr 18, 2012

View 2 Replies!   View Related
MacBook Pro :: What Software Lets Me Edit (need To Fill Out Forms) PDF File
Say I'm given a PDF file that doesn't have editable fields.

What software can I use to edit those fields and produce a PDF file?

Posted: Sep 5, 2010

View 8 Replies!   View Related
OS X V10.7 Lion :: Unable To Download IRS PDF Forms To MacBook Pro?
My MBP 10.7.3 OS won't allow me to download IRS PDF forms it (i7 MBP), but my old white MacBook (not up to date) will load them.Would it be Click to Flash? The site is all PDF files, not Flash that I can tell. Did the new update disable Click to Flash or something. It happening both in Safari and Firefox.

Info:
MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.7.3)

Posted: Apr 16, 2012

View 1 Replies!   View Related
OS X Leopard :: Preview.App Does Not Find Text In Pure Text Pdf Works In Other PDF Viewers
I am using reportlab an open source python based pdf generating package to generate pdf reports. The generated pdfs are searchable using Adobe acrobat and Google -Gmails built in pdf viewer . However in Preview.App the text seems to be only recognized as individual characters . For eg the text "hello world" will not match hello or world , but typing just h into the search bar will show up matched text as "h el l o" . So although visibly the text appears as a single word , semantically the words just seem to be composed of one or two characters.

Only Preview.App seems to have a problem with the generated pdf. Adobe Acrobat ( Mac and Windows) , Google-Gmail pdf-view , Evince-Gnome-PDF viewer ( Linux) dont have any problem with finding the text in the PDF documents generated. I have a thread in the reportlab user forum discussing the issue (see [URL]. ANd the problem definitely seems to be with Preview.App . The pdf (sample see example text in corner) is available at this url [URL] The app is targeted at scientist Mac users . And I want to have the pdf reports searchable and indexed by spotlight, so getting this working is very important for me.

Information:
macbook pro 17"
Mac OS X (10.5.7)
Preview.App text not found

Posted: Aug 31, 2009

View 2 Replies!   View Related
OS X :: Preview Cut Off Pdf?
if I try to print a pdf document using preview, it always cuts off parts of the document on the edges. For instance, I never get pages numbers located at the bottom (or it prints only the top half of the number). This happens for the left, right, and top margins too. Adobe PDF viewer prints documents fine. Are there settings in preview I can tweak to fix this?

Posted: Feb 24, 2009

View 3 Replies!   View Related
Pages 09 :: Opening PDF In Preview?
In pages, when you open the print dialogue there is a PDF button. The top item on the list is: Open PDF in Preview. Clicking this used to do just that, open the document in preview. After updating to Snow Leopard, it now opens in Adobe Acrobat. how to change this.

I want to open the PDF in preview, not in adobe acrobat.

Information:
24" iMac
Mac OS X (10.6)

Posted: Sep 12, 2009

View 27 Replies!   View Related
OS X :: Editing PDF In Preview - Search
I have a PDF file which loses its search functionality if I highlight, underline some parts of it. Do you know what might be the reason?

Posted: Feb 3, 2009

View 6 Replies!   View Related
Applications :: Pdf Bookmarks In Preview?
Is there a way to see bookmarks in a pdf in preview? bookmarks that weren't added by preview I mean? As far as I can tell there is not.. which is somewhat surprising. especially since they'll allow you to add your own. I mean that's what I would expect table of contents to be, but it doesn't show anything in my file even though in acrobat it has an extensive bookmarked table of contents. a follow-up question would be, is there any free pdf viewing software that is as snappy and responsive as preview (or close!) and will also display re-embedded bookmarks? because I have a lot of files I like to navigate that way.

Posted: Sep 29, 2009

View 1 Replies!   View Related
OS X Leopard :: How To Combine PDFs Into One PDF Using Preview
Does anyone know how to combine PDFs into one PDF using Preview or any other standard program that came with Leopard besides copying into a doc?

Information:
MacBook
Mac OS X (10.5.4)

Posted: Jan 24, 2009

View 3 Replies!   View Related
OS X Leopard :: How To Rotate PDF Document In Preview
There is a book where the double pages are turned. How do you rotate them so that you can read them in preview?

Information:
iMac
Mac OS X (10.5.6)
2.4 Duo chip, 4 GB Ram, Quickertek transceiver, iPhone, iTouch,

Posted: Oct 14, 2009

View 2 Replies!   View Related
OS X Leopard :: Preview Does Not Support PDF Features?
I have generated a number of PDF files in Adobe Acrobat that are questionnaires. The intent is to have the users fill out forms, click radio buttons and check boxes within the PDF and using buttons embedded on the questionnaire email them back to me. I have run into many problems with my questionnaires by Mac OSX users. It turns out when they open my Questionnaire (PDF) Preview launches instead of Adobe Reader. Evidentially Preview is the default application for PDFs. Preview does not support "calculations" "actions" for buttons including "submit a form" and does not auto font size in the forms they fill out.

Posted: Feb 10, 2010

View 9 Replies!   View Related
OS X Tiger :: Preview When Converting .jpg To .pdf
My scanner isn't producing sharp enough images, so I am:

1. Saving the 300 dpi scanned file in .jpg format
2. Opening the .jpg file in Preview.
3. Sharpening the image.
4. Saving the .jpg file as a .pdf file.

But Preview saves the .pdf file with huge dimensions (as though it had been scanned at 72 dpi instead of 300 dpi). So when I open the file in Acrobat, to OCR it, Acrobat thinks the file is huge (over 30" wide and over 40" tall) and the OCR chokes with a message that the page dimensions are too big. Obviously I could simply resave the sharpened .jpg file in .jpg format, and use Acrobat to convert it to PDF, which gives it the correct page dimensions. But the sharpened .pdf file looks better on screen when created by Preview. Is there any way to convert the .jpg file to .pdf within Preview which will keep the correct page size information? (Or, as a last resort, is there a Mac utility which will resize PDF dimensions?)

Information:
G5
Mac OS X (10.4.11)

Posted: Apr 24, 2010

View 5 Replies!   View Related
Applications :: Inserting Signature Into PDF In Preview
I have to fill out a W-9 form for my job and I was sent a pdf. I have my digital signature set up but have no idea how I can import it into the w-9 form through preview.

Posted: Sep 4, 2010

View 17 Replies!   View Related
OS X :: Saving Modified Pdf Files Using Preview
I received an email with a pdf file that I had to complete and send back. I opened the document with Preview, made the changes to complete the form, and saved it ("saved as" because the program wouldn't let me just "save" it. A box popped up saying that changes may affect the original format and that I had to "save as" to get a copy of the file). I opened it again just to make sure, and all the changes were there. I sent it via gmail, and a few hours later the original sender tells me that the form was empty. I checked, and it was empty, even though the name of the file was the one I gave it. I tried again with the same result. Using a PC I had no problems, so I am guessing that the issue is with Preview. Does anyone know what I did wrong?

Posted: Sep 8, 2010

View 2 Replies!   View Related
OS X :: Deleting Sticky Note From Pdf In Preview
Recently found out that there is a really cool feature when reading pdf files in preview. You can add notes, that show in a side column. in the file itself, it shows just a little yellow square that looks like a dialogue box from a cartoon, but yellow in side with lines (ie: a reminder that there is a note attached) To me, when reading professional articles I've downloaded, it's a great feature. It's just like making notes in an article, or on sticky notes, but it's all stored in one place, with the article's pdf file. My question (and perhaps there will turn out to be a simple answer I've overlooked) is: How do you delete one of these notes if you don't want it anymore? I've tried everything I can think of, and can't figure it out.

Posted: Feb 5, 2008

View 6 Replies!   View Related
OS X :: Preview PDF - No Save - Doc - Lost
I was writing a form (.pdf document) in Preview today. When going to try to quit (apple + q) the printer proxy, I accidentally quit Preview. I guess whoever created the document set it to read only, so I could not save (I'm a bit stupid, should have worked in word). Is there anyway I could retrieve the document? I doubt so, but that is why I am coming to you guys.

Posted: Mar 12, 2009

View 3 Replies!   View Related
Applications :: Preview Cutting Off PDF At Margins
Whenever I use Preview (v 4.1) to print certain pdfs, it often cuts off the bottom line (eg page numbers, last line of figure captions) which is really frustrating. I know it's not the printer's problem because I can print the same document in Adobe Acrobat on my Windows side (via Bootcamp) without any cutoff. Adobe has the "center" and "fit to scale" options or smthg like that in the print window, which was checked. In Preview's print window, the print preview image looks just fine with no cutoff, but it never prints out that way.

I think the problem may be in the lack of proper centering and fitting to scale in Preview in contrast to Adobe. I read somewhere that Preview likes to scale the pdf not around the center (which would prevent any bottom margin cutoff) but around a corner (like the bottom left corner, leaving the bottom margin problem unchanged). I really would like to resolve this within Preview. I don't want to hav to download the bloated Adobe on my Mac side. Also I really like Preview except for this issue.

Posted: Mar 27, 2009

View 1 Replies!   View Related
OS X :: Printing PDF - Resizes In Firefox And Preview
I am trying to print a picture in a PDF. When I scale it in Preview or Firefox, it looks correct. When I hit print it's either bigger or smaller than the picture on screen. When I try to print from Preview, it resizes it, instead of just leaving it the original size and dumping it on the page somewhere. Basically, I have a picture that my niece drew for me. I am going to make it the image that goes on the front of a Shuttle PC I'm building for my mom to replace her Mini. (long story, but another Mini for me!) Does anybody have a hint on how I can get it to print without resizing or scaling to fit the page? Another part of the problem that is probably related... In Preview, it says the picture is less than 5x3, but it's 7x5.5. If I can get Preview to understand how big it really is, maybe it will print right.

Posted: Aug 3, 2009

View 2 Replies!   View Related
OS X :: Opening Preview To View The Same PDF In 2 Windows?
i was wondering if you can open 2 different previews to view the same pdf. i have alot of pdf books and i want to be able to have the question and the section from the book open instead of scrolling all day back and forth. i have tried using safari to open the 2nd window but using safari temps me too much to just search the web instead of do my homework.

Posted: Sep 30, 2009

View 3 Replies!   View Related
Applications :: Recovering Unsaved PDF Changes In Preview
Preview's new annotations features are awesome. I'm finally able to read on my computer and make notes in an easy way. This is all good. Except that there apparently is no auto-save feature in Preview. I was working on a PDF and had lots of notes and then accidentally hit the keyboard shortcut for "Move selected PDF to Trash" (this, IMO, should not even exist, or at least should be something more complicated than command+delete or, at the very least, have a confirmation of deletion window). Anyway, once I moved the PDF back to its original file location and opened it back up, all the notes (lots of them) that had been added before the last save were now gone. I'm stupid, I know. Anyone know of anyway that I might be able to recover my changes from some temp file stored somewhere or something? Oh, and when I select File>Open Recent, it's always empty. Not sure why, not an option in Preview Preferences.

Posted: Oct 15, 2009

View 2 Replies!   View Related
Applications :: PDF Layers In Apple Preview?
I'm starting to get a lot of PDFs that have multiple layers, that is, different levels of text and pictures which can be turned on and off. The main benefit is that you can turn off, say, the pictures layer to make a document more printer friendly.However, there are a few PDFs I've gotten that just look like a big mess with all the layers turned on. There's a little annotation in the PDFs I've seen like this that say that there are layers in the document, so I know it's not a bad PDF. Adobe Reader can handle these layers, but I can't seem to find a way to get Apple Preview (Leopard version) to acknowledge it or to find a way to turn them on and off. Is there any way to get it to do so? Are there any plans in the future to support it? Or am I stuck using Adobe for those?

Posted: Dec 29, 2009

View 5 Replies!   View Related
Applications :: Opening PDF With Preview In Firefox?
when i click on a pdf in firefox, it opens it in preview, but i also find the file in my downloads. i like how the pdf opens in a separate preview window, but it's a hassle to have to keep deleting the file from downloads after i view it.

Posted: Jul 3, 2010

View 3 Replies!   View Related
OS X Tiger :: Can Preview Recognize Hyperlinks In PDF Docs
I've been trying to research this online but I get conflicting answers. Can Preview recognize hyperlinks (embedded URLs) in PDF documents? If it can, then how are those created?

Information:
G5 Dual 2.0GHz
Mac OS X (10.4.11)
1.5GB RAM; 750 GB RAID1

Posted: Mar 31, 2009

View 1 Replies!   View Related
OS X Leopard :: Preview Crash On Large Pdf Files
I am trying to view a 500k pdf in Preview. Every time I try, Preview crashes. It does the same thing whether I try to download and read it in Safari or Firefox from the original website or try to open the downloaded file and read it from the desktop.

Information:
24" Intel iMac 2.8; 15" MacBook Pro 2.66 G5 1.8, PB G4; G3
Mac OS X (10.5.6)

Posted: Apr 27, 2009

View 9 Replies!   View Related
OS X Leopard :: Preview PDF Files - Fill Out Form
I have downloaded a PDF form that I need to fill out and send back. I have selected the text tool, but I can't seem to figure out how to fill out the form.

Information:
Macbook
Mac OS X (10.5.7)

Posted: Jul 12, 2009

View 3 Replies!   View Related
OS X Leopard :: Preview No Longer Option For PDF Default
Since I updated to 10.5.8, all my PDFs defaulted to open with Acrobat. I selected one, tried to set Preview back to default application but it is not an option. When I selected "use all applications" and chose Preview, it is telling me that it won't open Acrobat PDFs. I then tried manually opening a PDF with Preview and the application will not respond.

Is there a known bug with Preview and 10.5.8? I much prefer Preview for PDFs.

As for the update install process, I did not go through Software Update. I did a manual install of the Combo 10.5.8. I repaired disk in utility (the start up disk) before installing and after the install I repaired disk permissions.

Posted: Aug 10, 2009

View 1 Replies!   View Related
OS X Leopard :: Viewing Secure PDF Documents In Preview
I have recently written an ebook that I would like to sell online. The original document was created using Pages and saved as a standard PDF. So far so good. As a way of trying to protect the book, I would like to have it password protected, which of course I can do in Preview, however, to use a stamping feature on the server that would print the buyer's name and email on the downloaded book, I am told that I need to save the PDF as Acrobat 5 or later.

The problem I am finding is that if I save a PDF in Acrobat using any kind of security it fails to view properly inside Preview. The page contents are reduced to miniscule items that are totally unusable, but those same files open perfectly inside Acrobat. So far the only way I can get password protected PDF files to open properly in Preview is if they are saved in Preview, however, I have found that these files are not compatible with the PHP stamping feature on the server that would add the buyer's details. Does anybody with knowledge of Acrobat and Preview understand what is happening here and how I can resolve this issue?

Information:
Imac
Mac OS X (10.5.8)
iMac 24 inch Duo 2.4GHz

Posted: Sep 8, 2009

View 4 Replies!   View Related
OS X Leopard :: Preview Annotations Corrupting PDF Search?
I downloaded a PDF file from the net, and without modifying the file, I can search through the file normally.

But once I put annotations in it - like highlighting some words and putting notes - and saving it afterward, searching is effectively useless. Search results would not appear anymore and sometimes weird characters would show.

Posted: Sep 29, 2009

View 1 Replies!   View Related
Snow Leopard :: New Preview Not Saving / Assemble Changes To PDF
Installed Snow Leopard and I have run into a problem with Preview. I and another colleague at work who was also upgraded can no longer add pdfs pages to another pdf in the sidebar. It allows you to do it but when you go to save, it only has save us now. In the previous version, you could click save and it would save the newly assembled pdf. Now you click save as and it doesn't retain the pdf pages that you just added. Very frustrating. I have other computer users in the office using a previous version of Preview and it works great. Is this a known bug in the new version?

Information:
MacBook Pro
Mac OS X (10.6.1)

Posted: Oct 6, 2009

View 2 Replies!   View Related
Snow Leopard :: How To Combine PDF Documents Using Preview
One of the best features of a Mac was the ability to make and combine pdf documents. In this new Snow leopard the preview pdf functions are a mess. I do not understand what they did to finder. How can you *combine pdf*'s in Snow leopard using preview?

Information:
iMac
Mac OS X (10.5.6)
2.4 Duo chip, 4 GB Ram, Quickertek transceiver, iPhone, iTouch, gal pure OJ

Posted: Jan 11, 2010

View 5 Replies!   View Related
OS X Leopard :: Opening All PDF Files In One Preview Document?
Anyone know how to open a group of pdf files into one preview document? I selected the open all images in one document in Preview preferences, but when I select all 20 pdf files they open in individual windows.

Information:
Intel 2x2.8 Ghz / intel I-Mac 2.0 gz 2 GB memory
Mac OS X (10.5.8)
2 GB ram

Posted: Nov 20, 2009

View 3 Replies!   View Related
MacBook Pro :: Can't View This PDF In Preview
there is something in that file, but I can't see it. and I AM NOT installing anything from Adobe - Long story why I am not.

Is there any other viewer or way inside of preview that I can see this file?

Information:
13" MacBook Pro/4GB RAM/320GB HD - 500MHz iBook G3/640 RAM/160GB HD/WiFi
Other OS
OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard on the MacBook Pro, and OS X 10.4.11 Tiger on the iBook

Posted: Apr 3, 2010

View 5 Replies!   View Related
OS X Leopard :: Preview Is Not Opening PDF's Correctly?
My Preview is for some reason not opening pdf's in the way they should look (for instance the text on a letter has turned into symbols, another has the signs as dots etc). It's really weird as it's always worked fine. The problem isn't with the pdf's themselves, as they appear perfectly well on my iphone.

Information:
iMac (Intel)
Mac OS X (10.5.8)
2 GHz Intel Core Duo, 1GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM

Posted: Apr 28, 2010

View 1 Replies!   View Related
Aperture :: PDF Preview Doesn't Look Like Original
I'm trying to get a preview of my book for a client. Normally I PDF the file, send it to them and they approve or change the book how they want. The problem is when I pdf my extra large book, some of the files, especially ones I've zoomed in on, are distorted, and look very strange. Many have their heads cut off. But when I pull them up in Aperture, they look just fine. Has anyone else experienced this or know of a solution. My client doesn't live near me and needs to be able to see the final product as close to what will be printed as possible.

Information:
iMac 27 in
Mac OS X (10.6.4)
None

Posted: Jul 20, 2010

View 2 Replies!   View Related
Snow Leopard :: Using FIND - Search - On PDF In Preview
When searching a PDF document I am trying to find the text "3,000" instead it finds "000" an "3". I have tried to enter without quotes, with single quotes and with double quotes. Same thing if I try to search for anything with a period such as "10.00". It finds 10 and 00 and 10.00. Hard for me to believe the search function is that broken.

Posted: Sep 15, 2010

View 5 Replies!   View Related
Snow Leopard :: How To Put A Pdf From Preview Into Mail
I have a newsletter I want to send out. I have created it in pages and exported it as a pdf. How do I get the pdf to be in the body of the e-mail when recipients open the e-mail (ie they can read it off the screen without having to open the attachment) as opposed to being an attachment?

Posted: Aug 2, 2010

View 1 Replies!   View Related
Pages 09 :: Printing To PDF - Margins Wrong In Preview
I don't know if this is connected to the latest Mac OS X v10.6.4 update, but some of my machines exhibit a very curious behaviour.
+ multiple pages A4 document
+ choose File > Print, click on "Save as PDF", under the PDF button
++ set pages 6 & 7 to print
++ set 2 pages per spread, so as to have Pages shrink the A4 document to somewhat A5, and have the two pages side-by-side on the same sheet
++ save the PDF

Then, when I open the PDF with Preview, the margins are all wrong (i.e. too big, there's too much white running around). And from Preview's inspector, I can tell that the Page Size is set to US Letter, although in Pages both the document size and the Printing Format are set to A4. The most curious part of the story is that my MacPro, my work MacBook Pro 13 and a white MacBook exhibit the problem, whereas my personal iMac 27" does not. And they are all running Mac OS X v10.6.4, with all the most recent updates, and the exact same version of Pages! I suspect that something has been changed in a framework somewhere.

Information:
iMac 27" - Core i7 - 4 GB - 2 TB
Mac OS X (10.6.4)
MacBook Pro 13" - Core2 - 2.4 GHz - 4 GB - 320 GB

Posted: Aug 19, 2010

View 6 Replies!   View Related
Copyright 2005-08 www.BigResource.com, All rights reserved