OS X :: Filling Out Pdf Forms In Preview

Feb 10, 2008

I downloaded the latest tax forms from the IRS in pdf form, and filled out all my tax information using preview. When I finished, I saved the form, but all the data I entered was lost. Can you not fill out pdf forms in preview? I did find a workaround. I filled in some data, then "printed" to a pdf file, and that saved all the entered data. Any insight into this issue?

ADVERTISEMENT

OS X :: Filling Out PDF Forms?

Apr 14, 2007

my Dad has to fill out some forms and they are available online in PDF format. He can edit them in Safari, but once we save the forms we are unable to edit them. The weird thing is when I first save it I could edit it, but once I saved it again it wouldn't let me change anything. This is very strange, I've tried Preview and Adobe Reader.

View 3 Replies View Related

OS X :: Add Text To Forms In Preview?

May 27, 2009

My employer sent me a form in .pdf form to fill out and send back. How can I fill out the form in Preview and send it back instead of having to print, complete, scan and re-send the form?

View 3 Replies View Related

MacBook :: PDF Forms Not Opening From Link - Page Comes Up Blank

Apr 18, 2012

When on a company's webpage, I click on the link to a form. The page comes up blank. When I do this on another computer (HP desktop) the form shows up fine. Is there a setting problem with my MacBook that I can fix?

Info:
MacBook, Mac OS X (10.6.8)

View 2 Replies View Related

MacBook Pro :: What Software Lets Me Edit (need To Fill Out Forms) PDF File

Sep 5, 2010

Say I'm given a PDF file that doesn't have editable fields.

What software can I use to edit those fields and produce a PDF file?

View 8 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: Unable To Download IRS PDF Forms To MacBook Pro?

Apr 16, 2012

My MBP 10.7.3 OS won't allow me to download IRS PDF forms it (i7 MBP), but my old white MacBook (not up to date) will load them.Would it be Click to Flash? The site is all PDF files, not Flash that I can tell. Did the new update disable Click to Flash or something. It happening both in Safari and Firefox.

Info:
MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.7.3)

View 1 Replies View Related

OS X :: Preview Cut Off Pdf?

Feb 24, 2009

if I try to print a pdf document using preview, it always cuts off parts of the document on the edges. For instance, I never get pages numbers located at the bottom (or it prints only the top half of the number). This happens for the left, right, and top margins too. Adobe PDF viewer prints documents fine. Are there settings in preview I can tweak to fix this?

View 3 Replies View Related

OS X :: Editing PDF In Preview - Search

Feb 3, 2009

I have a PDF file which loses its search functionality if I highlight, underline some parts of it. Do you know what might be the reason?

View 6 Replies View Related

Applications :: Pdf Bookmarks In Preview?

Sep 29, 2009

Is there a way to see bookmarks in a pdf in preview? bookmarks that weren't added by preview I mean? As far as I can tell there is not.. which is somewhat surprising. especially since they'll allow you to add your own. I mean that's what I would expect table of contents to be, but it doesn't show anything in my file even though in acrobat it has an extensive bookmarked table of contents. a follow-up question would be, is there any free pdf viewing software that is as snappy and responsive as preview (or close!) and will also display re-embedded bookmarks? because I have a lot of files I like to navigate that way.

View 1 Replies View Related

Applications :: Inserting Signature Into PDF In Preview

Sep 4, 2010

I have to fill out a W-9 form for my job and I was sent a pdf. I have my digital signature set up but have no idea how I can import it into the w-9 form through preview.

View 17 Replies View Related

OS X :: Saving Modified Pdf Files Using Preview

Sep 8, 2010

I received an email with a pdf file that I had to complete and send back. I opened the document with Preview, made the changes to complete the form, and saved it ("saved as" because the program wouldn't let me just "save" it. A box popped up saying that changes may affect the original format and that I had to "save as" to get a copy of the file). I opened it again just to make sure, and all the changes were there. I sent it via gmail, and a few hours later the original sender tells me that the form was empty. I checked, and it was empty, even though the name of the file was the one I gave it. I tried again with the same result. Using a PC I had no problems, so I am guessing that the issue is with Preview. Does anyone know what I did wrong?

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X :: Deleting Sticky Note From Pdf In Preview

Feb 5, 2008

Recently found out that there is a really cool feature when reading pdf files in preview. You can add notes, that show in a side column. in the file itself, it shows just a little yellow square that looks like a dialogue box from a cartoon, but yellow in side with lines (ie: a reminder that there is a note attached) To me, when reading professional articles I've downloaded, it's a great feature. It's just like making notes in an article, or on sticky notes, but it's all stored in one place, with the article's pdf file. My question (and perhaps there will turn out to be a simple answer I've overlooked) is: How do you delete one of these notes if you don't want it anymore? I've tried everything I can think of, and can't figure it out.

View 6 Replies View Related

OS X :: Preview PDF - No Save - Doc - Lost

Mar 12, 2009

I was writing a form (.pdf document) in Preview today. When going to try to quit (apple + q) the printer proxy, I accidentally quit Preview. I guess whoever created the document set it to read only, so I could not save (I'm a bit stupid, should have worked in word). Is there anyway I could retrieve the document? I doubt so, but that is why I am coming to you guys.

View 3 Replies View Related

Applications :: Preview Cutting Off PDF At Margins

Mar 27, 2009

Whenever I use Preview (v 4.1) to print certain pdfs, it often cuts off the bottom line (eg page numbers, last line of figure captions) which is really frustrating. I know it's not the printer's problem because I can print the same document in Adobe Acrobat on my Windows side (via Bootcamp) without any cutoff. Adobe has the "center" and "fit to scale" options or smthg like that in the print window, which was checked. In Preview's print window, the print preview image looks just fine with no cutoff, but it never prints out that way.

I think the problem may be in the lack of proper centering and fitting to scale in Preview in contrast to Adobe. I read somewhere that Preview likes to scale the pdf not around the center (which would prevent any bottom margin cutoff) but around a corner (like the bottom left corner, leaving the bottom margin problem unchanged). I really would like to resolve this within Preview. I don't want to hav to download the bloated Adobe on my Mac side. Also I really like Preview except for this issue.

View 1 Replies View Related

OS X :: Printing PDF - Resizes In Firefox And Preview

Aug 3, 2009

I am trying to print a picture in a PDF. When I scale it in Preview or Firefox, it looks correct. When I hit print it's either bigger or smaller than the picture on screen. When I try to print from Preview, it resizes it, instead of just leaving it the original size and dumping it on the page somewhere. Basically, I have a picture that my niece drew for me. I am going to make it the image that goes on the front of a Shuttle PC I'm building for my mom to replace her Mini. (long story, but another Mini for me!) Does anybody have a hint on how I can get it to print without resizing or scaling to fit the page? Another part of the problem that is probably related... In Preview, it says the picture is less than 5x3, but it's 7x5.5. If I can get Preview to understand how big it really is, maybe it will print right.

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X :: Opening Preview To View The Same PDF In 2 Windows?

Sep 30, 2009

i was wondering if you can open 2 different previews to view the same pdf. i have alot of pdf books and i want to be able to have the question and the section from the book open instead of scrolling all day back and forth. i have tried using safari to open the 2nd window but using safari temps me too much to just search the web instead of do my homework.

View 3 Replies View Related

Applications :: Recovering Unsaved PDF Changes In Preview

Oct 15, 2009

Preview's new annotations features are awesome. I'm finally able to read on my computer and make notes in an easy way. This is all good. Except that there apparently is no auto-save feature in Preview. I was working on a PDF and had lots of notes and then accidentally hit the keyboard shortcut for "Move selected PDF to Trash" (this, IMO, should not even exist, or at least should be something more complicated than command+delete or, at the very least, have a confirmation of deletion window). Anyway, once I moved the PDF back to its original file location and opened it back up, all the notes (lots of them) that had been added before the last save were now gone. I'm stupid, I know. Anyone know of anyway that I might be able to recover my changes from some temp file stored somewhere or something? Oh, and when I select File>Open Recent, it's always empty. Not sure why, not an option in Preview Preferences.

View 2 Replies View Related

Applications :: PDF Layers In Apple Preview?

Dec 29, 2009

I'm starting to get a lot of PDFs that have multiple layers, that is, different levels of text and pictures which can be turned on and off. The main benefit is that you can turn off, say, the pictures layer to make a document more printer friendly.However, there are a few PDFs I've gotten that just look like a big mess with all the layers turned on. There's a little annotation in the PDFs I've seen like this that say that there are layers in the document, so I know it's not a bad PDF. Adobe Reader can handle these layers, but I can't seem to find a way to get Apple Preview (Leopard version) to acknowledge it or to find a way to turn them on and off. Is there any way to get it to do so? Are there any plans in the future to support it? Or am I stuck using Adobe for those?

View 5 Replies View Related

Applications :: Opening PDF With Preview In Firefox?

Jul 3, 2010

when i click on a pdf in firefox, it opens it in preview, but i also find the file in my downloads. i like how the pdf opens in a separate preview window, but it's a hassle to have to keep deleting the file from downloads after i view it.

View 3 Replies View Related

Software :: Preview Displaying Blurry Txt In PDF?

Jul 12, 2010

I am having issues opening PDF in preview. Sometimes the txt comes through blurry making it unreadable. When I open the PDF file in Adobe Reader its views perfectly, so its just in preview this is happening. Now for myself it is not an issue as I just set my default PDF viewer to Adobe Reader but we have clients that use MACs and we may loose some business if the presentation is up to scratch.

Is there a way that I can make the PDF view properly in Preview. I have the original presentation so if I need to convert it differently then I can.

View 2 Replies View Related

Software :: PDF With Strange Marks And Lines In Preview

Apr 24, 2009

Something has changed with Preview on my system running Leopard. For some reason, most PDFs opened in Preview have strange lines in them. But if I open the PDFs with other apps like Adobe Reader, there are no lines. Anyone know what these are, why Preview is displaying them, and how to get rid of them?

View 12 Replies View Related

Applications :: Preview Create New Document From PDF Highlights?

Sep 14, 2010

I'm a medical student and as such I have to read a lot of PDFs in Preview. I usually read the text and highlight as I go to mark the important stuff. I was wondering if there's a way to create a new document composed of only the stuff I highlighted. That way I would have a great study guide and I wouldn't have to re-type all the content. So to summarize:

Copy highlighted sections ONLY and paste selections into a new document

View 1 Replies View Related

Applications :: Searching PDF With Preview Using Multiple Terms?

Mar 30, 2009

Does anyone know how to search a pdf with Preview using multiple terms?

Example: I searched for battle fatigue, and it showed me every result containing battle (including things like battlefield) and every result containing fatigue. I'm need it to find a specific phrase, not every instance of every word.

Putting the phrase in quotes returns nothing, as does using + between words.

View 3 Replies View Related

Applications :: Preview PDF Won't Open

Oct 28, 2009

I have no idea what happened. Overnight, Preview completely stopped working. When I double click a PDF, it'll bounce around a while in the dock and then the icon will stay there, though without the dot below it indicating that it should be running. When I right-click the icon, it says "Application Not Responding" and gives me the option to force quit it. I'm running Snow Leopard 10.6.1. I tried deleting the com.apple.preview... file in username/library/preferences and restarting Preview, but that did nothing. Anyone have a clue what went wrong here?

View 1 Replies View Related

Applications :: Preview To Display Hyperlinks In PDF Document?

Dec 24, 2009

How do I get Preview to display hyperlinks in a PDF document? I need to download a manual. When I click on the link in Safari, it only downloads the Table of Contents (1 p., 29KB). There are hyperlinks for each of the other 16 sections, but when I click on them, nothing happens, nothing further downloads, etc. How do I access the other sections?

View 2 Replies View Related

Applications :: PDF File With Preview Attachments Do Not Show Up

Apr 6, 2010

I have a PDF file that I know has attachments in it, but when I open the PDF file with Preview the attachments do not show up, nor does it even seem possible to view them (I know they are there because I can see them using Windows Foxit PDF reader). Does anyone know if this is possible with Preview or will I have to get the Adobe Reader? I dread getting anything adobe because on Windows computers their software is so bloated and a resource hog.

View 2 Replies View Related

Hardware :: Scanning PDF To Preview - Results Crooked

Oct 12, 2009

I have just installed a new HP6380 all in one for use with my iMac using OS X v.10.5.8. All seems to be working fine except scanning pdf's to preview. Everything looks fine in the scan preview but the finished results in Preview comes in about 20 degrees crooked cutting off the corners of the document. The same thing happens when I scan a pdf to desktop.

View 1 Replies View Related

Software :: Adding Author's Name To .PDF In Preview

Mar 13, 2009

I've been trying to figure out how to add an author to a .PDF created in Preview. I would like to archive some legal documents in electronic format. The regulator in my industry says "the identity of the person who made the electronic copy must be embedded in the document without altering the information contained in the written, printed or any paper record"

View 2 Replies View Related

Software :: Exporting Search Results From PDF In Preview?

Dec 4, 2009

My question is about "Preview". I have a very large PDF document that I am using preview to view. After doing a search for a specific word, preview has returned 1200 results. The results panel shows the page number the result is found on and the line of text on which the searched-for-word is found. My question is this: Is there a way to export this information from preview to something like an excel file? The end result would look like a table with two columns. One with the page numbers and one with the line of text in which the word appears.

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: Safari Open Pdf In Preview?

Feb 9, 2012

How do you change the default viewing of a PDF to Preview instead of Safari?

Info:
Mac Pro, Mac OS X (10.7.3)

View 4 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: Compress PDF Missing From Preview?

Feb 21, 2012

I want to compress a PDF I have created. I've been told that in Preview, in the Print dialog box, in the PDF menu there is an option "Compress PDF." That option doesn't appear in my dropdown menu. It doesn't appear in that menu regardless of what program I'm selecting Print from. I have a new MacBook Pro I bought last August with the latest version of Lion. How do I get that compression feature to work on my system?

Info:
Mac Pro, Mac OS X (10.7.3)

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: Why Preview Cannot Search Phrases In PDF

Feb 23, 2012

Why Preview cannot search phrases in PDF? i.e, I want to search the phrase "Apple Macbook Air", but Preview show the result for "Apple" & "Macbook" & "Air". It's not accurate at all!

Info:
MacBook Air, Mac OS X (10.7.3)

View 1 Replies View Related

OS X Technologies :: Preview Pdf Links Have Black Outlines?

Apr 4, 2012

how to remove the black borders that appears around pdf links in Preview?  

I created the pdf from powerpoint. The black lines around the transparent rectangle links only appear in Preview and not in acrobat for mac or pc. 

Info:
Preview, Mac OS X (10.0.x)

View 1 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: Merge Pdf Files In Preview?

Apr 9, 2012

I must be missing something. I've read the instructions for merging pdf documents in Preview, but it's just not working. Wants me to "duplicate" a file or something. This seems very un-Mac-like. I get 2 documents open, drag the thumbnails from one into another, one at a time, and then try to "Save As".

View 1 Replies View Related

MacBook Pro :: Cannot Save PDF Opened In Preview

May 6, 2012

I am a recent convert to the Mac. I have not found it an easy transition: not by any means. Absolutely love the iPhone and my iPad - but the MacBook Pro has been a huge disappointment. It is in serious danger of becoming nothing more than just a nice thing to look at. I am really struggling to get to grips with what are much more than just nuances over Windows.My latest problem concerns .pdf's opened in Preview.

I am sure that, initially, I had no problem with "saving a version" - now, all of a sudden it says that:"... could not be saved. You don't have permission."It tells me to find the document in Finder, and then look in "get info" - I do that. I have Read and Write permissions. I have unlocked the document, I have given "others" read/write permissions - I have tried everything, but still no joy.

Info:
MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.7.3)

View 6 Replies View Related

ADVERTISEMENT