OS X V10.7 Lion :: Why Do Preview And Textedit Open Up Old Files Unbidden

Jun 27, 2012

I open a text file or image file and the LAST text file or pic I had open opens up with the one I want. Anyone know what's up with that?

Info:
MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.7.4)

View 6 Replies


ADVERTISEMENT

OS X V10.7 Lion :: Cannot Open Jpg Files In Preview

Jun 21, 2012

For some reason I cannot open jpg files from a co-worker who previosuly sent files without any problems. I just bought a MacBook Air with OS X Lion & Preview won't open the files.

Info:MacBook Air, Mac OS X (10.7.4)

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: Why Do Excel Files Open In Preview

Apr 7, 2012

I've just upgraded to Lion 10.7.3 and tried to open an excel spreadsheet but it only opens in 'Preview' which is uneditible. 

Info:
iMac, Mac OS X (10.7.3)

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: 10.7.4 Preview, TextEdit Unable To Close Windows?

May 22, 2012

I finally upgraded to 10.7.4 this morning, and promptly opened TextEdit to write a new note to myself. When I tried to save it- cmd+S - the "File" in the menu bar was selected for ~10 seconds, as though it were saving, and then it was done. I never got the dialog to actually name the file, choose where to save it, etc. (Keep in mind that I'd just opened a new blank file, so I was kind of expecting this dialog.) Then it got weirder. I tried to close the window- cmd+W - and the x in the upper-left corner of the window was selected, as though it were trying to close, for ~10 seconds. Then it gave up and the window was still there. Needless to say I gave up, force-quit TextEdit and wrote the note in emacs. Should've done that all along... 

Then, just now, I had the same thing happen to me in Preview. Can't save files, or close windows. Tried duplicating a jpg to save as a copy somewhere else, and never got a save dialog, and couldn't close either the copy or the original.  

Info:
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2011), Mac OS X (10.7.4)

View 14 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: Preview Locks Files Not Only When Open But Also After Being Closed

May 27, 2012

I hand-create PostScript files, which are tested by being dragged to Adobe Distiller. This application is unhappy if the same-name PDF is busy. And if not busy, the same-name PDF is happily over-written. So far, so good. Until recently, whilst Preview had a PDF open, it could not be overwritten - somehow marked as busy, I guess. If closed, if could. But within the last two weeks this behaviour has changed. Preview 5.5.2 (719.25), under Lion, keeps them 'busy' even after the file is closed or Preview is quit. It fails to unmark as 'busy'. So I have to drag the PDF to the trash before Adobe Distiller will 'overwrite'.

Info:
iMac

View 8 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: Multiple Recent Files Open When Opening Preview?

Feb 13, 2012

When I launch preview with10.7.3, the app opens multiple recent files. And how can I stop this?

Info:
iMac/MacBook Pro/iPhone 3G/Nano, Mac OS X (10.5.4)

View 3 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: Tiff Files Suddenly Don't Open In Preview And Powerpoint

May 22, 2012

All of a sudden my tiff files that still could be previewed two weeks ago, before an update of Lion, won't open anymore in preview and powerpoint. The files are not corrupted, since photoshop opens them normally. Anything know about a bug in latest lion version?

Info:
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2010), Mac OS X (10.7.4)

View 1 Replies View Related

Software :: TextEdit Set As Default Application To Open EXE Files?

May 10, 2010

I have recently dipped a toe into the world of torrents (I know this is probably something that you cannot be seen to condone), some software packages contain exe files which previously my Macbook Pro, running Tiger, has been able to read and open but recently TextEdit has been set as the default application to open them. I'm not sure how this has happened, is there anyway around this without having to reboot the OS?

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X Mavericks :: TextEdit / Preview And Other Apple Applications Won't Launch?

Jun 21, 2014

For reasons which escape me, since I rebooted yesterday, I have been unable to launch TextEdit, Preview or Pages - they just say not responding when their icon is ctrl-clicked in the Dock. I just checked Numbers and Keynote, which I have never used and after their initial welcome screen, they too became unresponsive. As far as I can tell, GarageBand, iPhoto and probably others in iLife are unaffected, neither are Mail and Safari. 

I found that a similar problem was being experienced a few years ago by some people using TextEdit and Preview and it was solved by re-signing the application in Terminal. I have tried that but it hasn't worked. I have repaired permissions and I'm just downloading the Mavericks installer so that I can make a USB installer and re-install OS X 10.9.3. 

I am downloading which may save me the trouble of re-installing OS X 10.9.3, I'd be very grateful.

View 5 Replies View Related

OS X Mavericks :: TextEdit / App Store And Preview Do Not Respond To Clicking Or Keyboard Shortcuts

Sep 12, 2014

Late 2013 Macbook Pro Retina running Mavericks 10.9.4 with all software updated. 

A couple of days ago, I opened an image up in Preview only to find that the application would not respond to any clicks or keyboard shortcuts I made. If I were to hover over an icon on the top bar, it would recognize that I was doing that, but not do anything if I clicked on it. Ultimately, the only way to close the program to perform a force quit with Cmd-Opt-Shift-Esc or right-click on the dock and go to "Quit". It does not show up as not responding in the Force Quite menu, and the problem does not go away if I reboot the computer.

I've also experienced the problem in two other apps to date - the App Store and TextEdit. Both will act like they're perfectly okay until I actually go to click on something, in which case they won't respond at all. There's no spinning pinwheel or freezing - it just acts like nothing is happening. (For example, if I launch the App Store from my browser directly to an app page, the "Download" or "Purchase" button will highlight when you hover over it but cannot be pressed. I have launched it from Finder, as well, so it's not that contributing to it.)

These are the only apps I've noticed that are doing it, but they're all Apple apps. In contrast, Finder, iTunes, and Safari work as well as ever.

Info:
MacBook Pro with Retina display, OS X Mavericks (10.9.4), 8 GB memory, ~251 GB storage

View 1 Replies View Related

Applications :: View Pdf Files In Camino Browser Without Saving Them Or Open Preview?

Feb 26, 2008

does anyone know of a way (plugin or otherwise) to view pdf files in the camino browser without having to save them or open preview? i know about the pdfbrowser plugin, but that's for PPC only. ideally, i'm looking for something that will mimic safari pdf functionality... that's like the only reason i still sometimes use safari!

View 10 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: Can't Open / Use Preview App

May 2, 2012

All of a sudden, I can't open/use the Preview app. I was going to pull the plist but I can't find any. In the process, I don't see a Library for the individual users.

Info:MacBookPro, Mac OS X (10.7.3)

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: Safari Open Pdf In Preview?

Feb 9, 2012

How do you change the default viewing of a PDF to Preview instead of Safari?

Info:
Mac Pro, Mac OS X (10.7.3)

View 4 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: New Preview Won't Open Single Images

Feb 19, 2012

I have been using preview to investigate screen shots I've been taking. The problem is preview is opening every single file I've viewed with it when I open it. I take a lot of screenshots.

How do I get image preview to open JUST the image I told it to open? How do I make it stop opening multiple images at once when I don't ask it to?

Info:MacBookPro, Mac OS X (10.7.3)

View 1 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: Keyboard Shortcut To Open Preview?

Apr 27, 2012

When I want to scroll through a folder with pictures, I usually drag the folder from the Finder to the Preview icon in my dock. Is there a way to open Preview with a keyboard shortcut? I know about pressing the spacebar to open Quicklook, but I prefer Preview.

View 3 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: Preview Application Won't Open Any Documents?

Jun 27, 2012

My Preview application on my mac book pro (Lion OS X) won't open any pdf or jpeg documents. It just says ' the application Preview can't be opened. -1712'  

Info:
Mac OS X (10.7.4)

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: When Open Document In Preview / It Also Opens Last Doc Viewed At Same Time

May 11, 2012

I'm finally getting used to the extra steps required to save a doc in Preview now (but I hate it). What I'm noticing now is that when I open a document in Preview, it also opens the last doc I viewed at the same time..If I wanted to see the old doc I would've double clicked it.I use Preview all the time.There is no Preference to disable this strange behavoir.

Info:
iPad, iOS 5.0.1, MacPro, MacBook Pro, iPad, iPhone

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: Preview Remaining Open In Background - Requires Force Quit

Jun 20, 2012

I have this problem on my new MBA (2012) and mac mini (2011), both running the latest update of LION (10.7.4). Basically, if I am using preview, it shows up on my dock no problem and I can close windows/hide/quite no problem. Usually a while later, a copy of Preview ends up showing up in my FORCE QUIT menu (if I happen to be there), but is not visibly open. (see pic).

Odd that it occurs on both. Only things that are non-apple installed on MBA (and mirror with MM) are:

- MS Office 2k11
- Firefox
- ClamXav virus scanner
- Diablo 3

Info:
MacBook Air, Mac OS X (10.7.4), 2012, 13", 256GB SSD, 8GB RAM

View 3 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: When Open A Photo With Preview, It Opens All The Photos Have Viewed Previously

Jun 27, 2012

When I open a photo with Preview, it opens all the photos I have viewed previously.  How can I prevent that, other than manually clearing the list after each time?

Info:
MacBook, Mac OS X (10.7.4)

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: Merge Pdf Files In Preview?

Apr 9, 2012

I must be missing something. I've read the instructions for merging pdf documents in Preview, but it's just not working. Wants me to "duplicate" a file or something. This seems very un-Mac-like. I get 2 documents open, drag the thumbnails from one into another, one at a time, and then try to "Save As".

View 1 Replies View Related

Mac Pro :: I/O-open Error 5 On Applications/textedit?

Aug 12, 2008

I am having some real "first" problems with my Mac Pro. The "repair" function is not able to do anything with it. Before I replace the disc, is there something I can do without replacing the disc? I have no idea what this malfunction is or how o understand it. This is my first Mac since the late '90's and I expected problems, it's a computer, and am not sure of the steps I need to analyze the problem or how to correct it. The only thing I need to back up are my clients photographs. The rest is replaceable. Perhaps I should also get advice on how to properly burn CD's for b/u of my wifes email. Well, my email also.

View 9 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: How To Make Preview App Default For All PDF Files

May 31, 2012

I like Preview.app to be my primary app to open pdf and pictures. When I want to edit I will open the app I need and drag document to the icon to open. Something changed and now Adobe Acrobat has become my default.I want to change back to Preview.

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: Add Data Hyperlinks (URI Schemes) To PDF Files With Preview?

Jun 1, 2012

I tried to add data hyperlinks to a pdf file with the preview app and the annotation tool like in this reference [URL]It seems it doesn't work, only for web urls.  Is this a bug?Are there any work arounds without Adobe Reader? The pdf file is made from a numbers sheet. If I add the data hyperlink within the numbers sheet and create a pdf, all links in Preview are deactivated.

Info:
Mac OS X (10.7.4), Preview 5.5.2

View 1 Replies View Related

Applications :: TextEdit Not Responding When Open Existing File

Mar 1, 2009

If I open TextEdit, it seems to work ok. But if I open an existing file (RTF), TextEdit opens but is "not responding" (says the Activity Monitor), for about 2 minutes. Then the file I wanted to open suddenly appears and works fine.

How come? And how can I make TextEdit work normally again?

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: .mov Files Missing Icon Images, Won't Play In Preview App

Jun 4, 2012

My .mov files no longer have icon images and will no longer play in the preview app.They all worked fine in snow leopard. Most of the files were shot on a canon 5d and then formatted to prores422 with mpeg streamclip. very basic stuff. This is seriously slowing down my work process as I use the preview app contantly when sorting new footage. All of the clips play fine in QT but not in preview.

Info:
Mac Pro, Mac OS X (10.7.4), 2x3 GHz DC Intel Xeon | 8 GB ram

View 12 Replies View Related

MacBook Pro :: Cannot Open HTML File In TextEdit As Original For Editing?

Aug 31, 2014

I'm working on a school project in my intro to computer programming class on my new MacBook Pro.  I'm using TextEdit, and I can't seem to create the right kind of file.  When I save the file as an  .html file I can open in a browser as text, but I can no longer open in TextEdit as the original code to edit it. 

Info:
MacBook Pro, OS X Mavericks (10.9.4)

View 1 Replies View Related

OS X Mountain Lion :: Preview Opens Hundreds Of Files As Unsaved Images

Jun 29, 2014

Computer details:

13" Macbook Pro - mid-2012 (9.2)

2.9 GHZ

750 GB Hard Drive

8 GB RAM

OS: 10.8.2 

I tried to open a single image in Preview (Version 6.0.1 (765.4)). Instead, it opened just over 500 images (out of 2300 on the hard drive) as "Untitled 1" "Untitled 2" etc. Over three hundred of those were grouped in a single window (that is, one of them was visible large, with thumbnails of all in the "drawer"). Why it opened the files as "Untitled", nor, in fact, why it opened them at all. I had only clicked on one to open it. I quit Preview, but upon reopening, all the "Untitled" images were back. The same thing happened when opening Preview after restart. The only way I could get rid of them was to close their windows one at a time. Of course, when closing something that's unsaved, the computer asks whether to save it or not, but I cannot click Command-D (as in previous systems), I have to click the Don't Save button each and every time. This takes ages with so many windows open. 

Well, since I had no choice, I did that for the couple hundred images that had opened in their own window(s). Then I tried to close the images in the single window. I would do Command-W, then click Don't Save. The dialog closed, but the image didn't go away. Then a new Save dialog box would open with a different "untitled" number specified, and I would do it again. And again. And again. The images, however, did not disappear. Then I saw that the names (Untitled 101, Untitled 204, etc) of some of the images I had previously attempted to close were coming back again. They had not actually closed. I could not get rid of that window with three hundred images open in it. If I quit Preview, then reopened it, ALL of the 500 plus images opened again, even the ones I had successfully closed. The application is now useless until I find a fix. 

View 5 Replies View Related

OS X :: Editing Files In Textedit?

Jan 18, 2010

Hi everyone! I made the switch to Mac recently after my Dell laptop crashed, and I had just had enough of Vista. I'm LOVING it and getting accustomed to it, but one thing is driving me completely CRAZY and I hate it-

I run a website and on my PC, I would simply edit the coding myself, in notepad. They are PHP files, and uploaded perfectly, no problems.

I opened the file to update the site tonight and it opened in Opera, and didnt show my code. I selected to open it in textedit, and edited it fine, uploaded, etc. After awhile, I found something else that needed to be updated and opened in TextEdit again and now it only shows me a PREVIEW of that PHP file, and not the coding. How can I fix this-- or what else can I use that's going to strictly show me the code only and edit it?

View 5 Replies View Related

OS X :: Opening Textclipping Files With Textedit?

May 15, 2009

textclipping files are cool, but not as useful as they could be. I'd like to be able to open them in textedit (or similar) to select parts of the clipping, but that doesn't work.

View 6 Replies View Related

OS X V10.5 Leopard :: Why Do TextEdit Files Turn Up Blank After Opening Them In E-mail

May 21, 2012

After I finished my 750 word essay for school, I E-mailed it to myself and when I opened it to print it, it was empty! I have 3 more days until I have to hand it in. I don't have the file on my computer anymore so I can't print from home.


Info:
MacBook, Mac OS X (10.5.8)

View 3 Replies View Related







Copyrights 2005-15 www.BigResource.com, All rights reserved