OS X Mavericks :: Why Doesn't Preview Make Good Gray Scale

Aug 20, 2014

I cannot get a good grayscale in my Mavericks to send to a printer. I have to copy it and use my older iMac with 10.6 - which does it easily and quickly. Not impressed with present Preview.

View 2 Replies


ADVERTISEMENT

OS X Mavericks :: No Gray Scale Option When Printing - Just Black And White

Aug 30, 2014

When I go to print, there isn't a grayscale option, just black and white. It wastes too much black ink in black and white mode, and there used to be a grayscale option. 

Computer: Late 2009 iMac 21.5
Printer: Canon MG3200
OS: 10.9

Info:
iMac, OS X Mavericks (10.9.4)

View 4 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: Set Print Default Settings To Gray-scale?

Mar 18, 2012

Is there a way to set the default print settings to grayscale like you can on a Windows computer?I have an HP Photosmart B210E, but the only way to print grayscale all the time is to be sure to set it on File/Print's dialog or replace my printer with a Grayscale only one.

Info:
Mac mini, Mac OS X (10.7.2), Second Gen

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X V10.6 Snow Leopard :: Preview Print Scale Is Boffo?

Feb 29, 2012

i am constantly having a problem when i try and print a smallish image with Preview /automatically/ checking the Scale to Fit Paper Size and when i /uncheck/ this by clicking in the "Scale" radio button it /automatically/ enters the percent scale factor that would be required if I wanted to scale to fit to paper (e.g. 184%). Since I /don't/ want this scale (I already unchecked this option) I MANUALLY enter "100" in this box and - well - it prints out scale to fit to paper size /anyway/. i am using the Print Selected Image but the Print option behaves in the same way. Also, Auto Rotate (which defaults to AutoRotate with no option - "bad Preview, bad") has no effect on this. i have taken to pulling down to four or nine images to a page in order to get my images printed smaller, even though they never print out at 100%. 

View 14 Replies View Related

Applications :: Why Doesn't OSX Preview Work As Well As Windows' Preview Feature?

May 10, 2009

In Windows XP/Vista, if you are navigating in a folder containing pictures, and you click any picture, it opens up Windows built in preview program. Much like OSX. However, in Windows, you can click "Next/Previous" within that program to quickly flip through those photos. Why do the up & down arrows in OSX not work? I still prefer my iMac to any PC I have owned, but this one little thing bugs me to no end. Is there a setting I can change somewhere to make that work like in Windows?

View 10 Replies View Related

OS X :: JPEG File Preview Display Gray Block Instead Of Image

Mar 11, 2010

I am having problems with Preview and Snow Leopard. I can use Quick View to view jpeg files, but when I open them with preview. It does not display the correct image. It just displays a gray block. The only way to resolves this is to delete the preview prefernce files, and then it works. But after a couple of restarts it goes back to not displaying the correct image.

View 4 Replies View Related

Applications :: Gray Itunes - To Make Them Faster?

Sep 1, 2010

what happened with beautiful color icons? now they are all grey, is that supposed to make itunes faster?

View 24 Replies View Related

OS X :: How Do I Make Preview Be The Default In Safari

Oct 31, 2007

I have acrobat installed, and every time I view a pdf through safari, it views it with acrobat. I want it to do it with Preview instead, but I don't know how!

in other words when I'm in Safari, and I click on a link of a pdf file, I want it to display the pdf in the browser with Preview instead of acrobat.

View 4 Replies View Related

OS X :: Itunes Movie Rental Doesn't Work - All Gray Screen

Sep 9, 2010

I tried to rent a movie from Itunes and play it on my iMac and it just shows a all grey screen.

View 3 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: How To Make Preview App Default For All PDF Files

May 31, 2012

I like Preview.app to be my primary app to open pdf and pictures. When I want to edit I will open the app I need and drag document to the icon to open. Something changed and now Adobe Acrobat has become my default.I want to change back to Preview.

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X :: Preview Doesn't Show .gif Animation

Feb 10, 2006

I'm not sure if it's called "Preview", the standard program for viewing pictures in Tiger. But when I open a .gif file with, for example 36 frames, it won't play the animation. I can select every frame but it won't play the whole animation. I already checked the Help menu, but it didn't work. I can drag the file to Safari, but that's not the way I want to view .gif files.

View 24 Replies View Related

MacBook Pro :: Make A Website Preview Without Domain And Hosting?

Apr 16, 2012

How do i make a website preview on OS X Lion without domain and hosting?

I need to prove to someone i can make a website then they will buy me a domain and hosting on a OS X Lion.

Info:
MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.7.3)

View 5 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: Sandbox Make Preview And Text Edit Unresponsive?

Apr 2, 2012

i want to open an image or pdf with preview,it loads slowly for the first time  while mouse pointer wheeling (like crash time)and the console error is about sandboxing,i think it is created because of update from 10.7.1 to 10.7.3, the console message is

sandboxd[318] ([313]): Preview(313) deny iokit-open AppleGraphicsPolicyClient com.apple.mdworker.isolation.0[322]: warning: invalid bfrange: string length is not a multiple of 2.

i don't know what to do more to  solve this problem, i have done reset password,disk utility permissions repair?

View 9 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: Downloaded And Now Doesn't Recognize Epson Printer Or Preview

Feb 2, 2012

downloaded Lion and now doesn't recognize Epson printer or Preview

Info:
iMac, Mac OS X (10.7.2)

View 1 Replies View Related

OS X Mavericks :: MESSAGES App Menus Are Gray

Aug 19, 2014

if there is a problem with my MESSAGES APP on my Mac if its menus are almost all non accessible and grey?

Info:
Mac mini, OS X Mavericks (10.9.4)

View 3 Replies View Related

OS X V10.7 Lion :: Print Window Doesn't Show Preview Button Anymore

Feb 15, 2012

This button allowed (in Snow Leopard and even in Tiger) to see the final page full size, or even to save as a PDF file. This functionality is sadly missing on my computer since I have upgraded to LION, making me regret the move. Is there some pref somewhere that I should adjust, or just plainly forget about it. ? When I print, the dialog window does NOT show the Preview button anymore.

I am on a MacBook Pro 17".

View 3 Replies View Related

OS X Mavericks :: Why All Gray In Sidebar / Lost Functionality

Jun 29, 2014

I've just upgraded from 10.6.8 to 10.9.3 and am very disappointed to see that everything in the sidebar is shown in shades of gray. I've used FolderBrander for many years to color code my finder folders and it was great that the folder colors also appeared in the sidebar in 10.6.8. I could group associated folders by color in the sidebar and that made for very rapid and accurate access deep into my folder architecture. I am mourning this lost functionality. how I could send this dissatisfaction along to Apple along with a request to restore colors to the sidebar?

View 10 Replies View Related

OS X Mavericks :: Why Does Gray Screen Show Up When Trying To Wake Up Computer

Aug 22, 2014

After the computer has been in sleep mode for a little while, when i try to wake up the computer, it turns to a cray scree, a loading bar appears and then it takes like 5 mins for the icons to appear and for the mouse to work!

Info:
iMac, OS X Mavericks (10.9.4), Stock mottle 21.5inch

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X Mavericks :: Getting Gray Screen When Restart Mac With Command Reboot

Sep 2, 2014

When I restart the mac with the command "reboot" of the finder. I have a gray screen and nothing more. If I use the command "Turn off" and I turn on the mac by the start button it works.

Mac pro : 10.9.4, 2x2,8 ghz DDR2 FB-DIMM

View 1 Replies View Related

OS X Mavericks :: Why Does Apple Mail Put Good Messages In Junk Folder

Sep 10, 2014

It seems every day Apple Mail puts a couple good messages in the junk folder. Unfortunately, it doesn't mark them as junk, so I am unable to mark them as not junk. I reset the junk mail preferences, so it does not "trust junk mail headers in messages," and I removed the envelope indices as discussed here: Junk Mail eating non-junk mail but neither worked, ad good messages are still going to the junk folder.

View 6 Replies View Related

OS X Mavericks :: Mail Program Frozen With One Message Open And Gray

Sep 4, 2014

I am on mac laptop OSX 10.9.2  using Mail 7.2.  I tried to open a "Mailer Daemon" message and it is frozen, not even open but a grey colored blank "message".  I've tried: closing the message unsuccessfullyForce Quitting the application (reads "Mail (not Responding)") when I do.  (4 times)Turning off the entire computer, letting it rest and rebooting. (3 times)Opening up my server on the internet and deleting the offensive message "mailer daemon"Turning off the computer again. 

So...as soon as I open mail, the grey "message" is open.  I can click on the Mail Viewer window and have that come forward, but all is frozen.Just did it again and it hasn't changed.  Had to force quit again.  Never before in 8 years of using the Mail application (different computers).  The rainbow wheel of death spins and spins. 

Info:
OS X Mavericks (10.9.2)

View 4 Replies View Related

OS X Mavericks :: Preview Won't Launch

Jul 1, 2014

This week I upgraded my Macbook Pro 13 (2011) from Snow Leopard to Mavericks 10.9.2.  Initially I had problems with email crashing and Preview not launching.  I then found the upgrade to 10.9.4 and installed that.  This cured the email issue but I still cannot launch Preview. 

View 3 Replies View Related

OS X Mavericks :: Print Preview Gone?

Aug 30, 2014

I have updated my system to OS X Maverick and have lost the ability to "print preview" my files before saving. I frequently save files as jpeg files, as well as pdf. I have found that many of our flyers print better when saved as a jpeg but since the print preview option has been eliminated, I cannot save anything as a jpeg.

Info:
MacBook Pro (13-inch Early 2011), OS X Mavericks (10.9.4)

View 7 Replies View Related

OS X Mavericks :: Sending IMessage And Send Button Stay Gray Shade

Dec 6, 2014

I try to send a iMessage and the send button stay gray shade

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X Mavericks :: Finder And Preview Not Responding

Jun 21, 2014

My finder is not working and preview also?

View 1 Replies View Related

OS X Mavericks :: (10.9.4) How To Get Hyperlinks To Work In Preview

Sep 5, 2014

I have created them in MSWord for Mac but they are dead when I save them as PDF and view in Preview. I am using Preview Version 7.0

Info:
iMac (27-inch, Late 2012), OS X Mavericks (10.9.4)

View 1 Replies View Related

OS X Mavericks :: How To Keep JPG Compression In PDF Files Due To Using Preview 7.0

Dec 12, 2014

What can I do to keep jpg compression in pdf files due to useing Preview 7.0?

Preview is saving it's own version of file and file is 6 times larger than it was before.

First it happened after puting notes, now it's enough to open the file.

Info:
Preview 7.0, OS X Mavericks (10.9.5), autosave without jpg compression

View 2 Replies View Related

OS X :: Trash Doesn't Make Any Noise In SL

Aug 31, 2009

Trash doesn't make any noise when emptying or putting items in the the trash.

View 4 Replies View Related

OS X Mavericks :: Gray Screen After Erasing Hard Drive And Resetting NVRAM / PRAM

Jun 17, 2014

I have a mid-2011 iMac (with Mavericks OS), and am doing a clean install before giving my computer to a relative. I performed a secure erase of my entire harddrive (using disk utility), reset the NVRAM / PRAM (but it only chimes once even after I tried several times), and now I get the grey screen even when I try to boot from CD, safe boot, or any other commands. I can't even get back into the disk utility.

On a side note, I have the install DVD in the DVD drive and I can't get that out.

Info:
iMac, OS X Mavericks (10.9)

View 3 Replies View Related

OS X Mavericks :: Preview Program Has Not Been Working Properly

Jun 3, 2014

About a week ago my preview program has not been working properly.  Whenever i try and put text into my pdf documents the preview program shows the ‘spinning wheel of death’ at the point of saving…(I don’t know what else to call that multicoloured candy-looking spinning thing) It does not freeze up with ALL pdf…just some of them.  I was thinking about deleting preview and then reinstalling it..but my mac system does not allow me.   One perhaps important thing is:  when i edit the ‘stubborn’ pdf files, and then press ‘save’ nothing happens.  I have to press save twice…then the program becomes inactive. 

Info:
Mac Pro, Mac OS 9.0.x

View 4 Replies View Related







Copyrights 2005-15 www.BigResource.com, All rights reserved