Tracking Forums, Newsgroups, Maling Lists
Home Scripts Tutorials Tracker Forums
  Advanced Search
  HOME    TRACKER    mac


Advertisements:






OS X Leopard :: Preview PDF Files - Fill Out Form


I have downloaded a PDF form that I need to fill out and send back. I have selected the text tool, but I can't seem to figure out how to fill out the form.

Information:
Macbook
Mac OS X (10.5.7)


View 3 Replies (Posted: Jul 12, 2009)

Sponsored Links:

Related Forum Messages for Mac:
OS X Leopard :: Preview Crash On Large Pdf Files
I am trying to view a 500k pdf in Preview. Every time I try, Preview crashes. It does the same thing whether I try to download and read it in Safari or Firefox from the original website or try to open the downloaded file and read it from the desktop.

Information:
24" Intel iMac 2.8; 15" MacBook Pro 2.66 G5 1.8, PB G4; G3
Mac OS X (10.5.6)

Posted: Apr 27, 2009

View 9 Replies!   View Related
OS X Leopard :: Opening All PDF Files In One Preview Document?
Anyone know how to open a group of pdf files into one preview document? I selected the open all images in one document in Preview preferences, but when I select all 20 pdf files they open in individual windows.

Information:
Intel 2x2.8 Ghz / intel I-Mac 2.0 gz 2 GB memory
Mac OS X (10.5.8)
2 GB ram

Posted: Nov 20, 2009

View 3 Replies!   View Related
OS X Leopard :: PDF Files Opening In Preview With Small Font
I think I have a handle on how my Mac handles PDF files as far as saving and printing goes. I'm running into something that puzzles me with PDF text files I've saved in Safari. When opened on the Mac they are opening up in Preview with extremely small fonts...barely readable. I can of course zoom the file out and it reads nicely. My question is whether of not I can somehow expand the text in the PDF file to a larger size then save it somehow retaining that larger size?Also, I notice that Adobe has a version of Acrobat Reader available for OSX as a free download. Is there any advantage at all to installing this and using it as the preferred program to read, save, and send PDF files over the already supplied Mac support within my OSX?

Information:
Intel IMac
Mac OS X (10.5.5)

Posted: Mar 31, 2009

View 7 Replies!   View Related
OS X Leopard :: Using Arrow Keys To Navigate Pdf Files In Preview?
I have been searching [URL] and trying Google without success for a discussion of shortcut keys for Preview. I started looking because of one particular confusion. On the Macbook Pro keyboard, what is the meaning now of the arrow keys that on Powerbook were labelled Home, PageUp, PageDown, and End. And, does that change at all with the meaning of the "fn key" in system preferences? Or with any of the universal access options? I'm reading two large multi-bookmark documents (400 and 700 page PDF files). The arrow keys seem to be functioning differently between the two documents and even sometimes working differently within the same document. Unless I'm getting really faked out. Maybe something contextual? I'm really very confused and that interferes with reading and understanding the material. I am new to both the Intel Macbook Pro and to OS 10.5, having just upgraded finally from 10.3.9 on a Powerbook G4. So there is a lot of stuff that I need to understand by reading about it! If only Preview had industrial strength navigation options or even simple-minded ones that worked consistently with my expectations.

Information:
MacBook Pro
Mac OS X (10.5.6)

Posted: Apr 6, 2009

View 1 Replies!   View Related
OS X Leopard :: Preview And PDF Files - Sidebar With Thumbnails Of All The Pages
Normally when I use Preview to look at a PDF file I get a sidebar with thumbnails of all the pages. However, if I use Adobe Acrobat editor to combine two PDF files I then only see in the sidebar the names of the two files that were merged rather than individual pages. However, the page display mode in Acrobat shows the individual pages quite happily.

Information:
Unibody Macbook
Mac OS X (10.5.6)

Posted: Jul 28, 2009

View 3 Replies!   View Related
OS X Leopard :: Saving PDF Files As Image Using Preview Application
I'm converting PDF files into image files for use with OCR software. The problem is that changing the pixels/inch option from 150 to say 300 does not improve the resolution of the resulting image file. E.g. if I save at 150 p/i and then 300p/i both image files are the same size and resolution. I've tried JPG, JPG-2000, TIFF, and GIF. All produce the same fuzzy result.

Information:
MacBook
Mac OS X (10.5.7)

Posted: Sep 16, 2009

View 6 Replies!   View Related
Snow Leopard :: Preview For Management Of Secure PDF Files
I am trying to be a loyal Mac user and rely on Preview for management of my secure PDF files. (I have used Adobe Acrobat Professional -AAP- for several years; I am trying to avoid installing it on my clean SL installation.)

1.) How do I use Preview to open a PDF file created, encrypted, and password protected in AAP? (I get an error: The file "Secure.pdf" could not be opened. It may be damaged or use a file format that Preview doesn't recognize."
2.) Can someone give me simple step by step instructions to add Automator functions to Preview to allow me to encrypt and password protect individual files on a file by file basis?

All of this is very simple in AAP. Seems unnecessarily difficult in SL...

Information:
MacBook - MacBook Air SSD - Mac Mini
Mac OS X (10.5.8)
AEBS 802.11(n)

Posted: Oct 18, 2009

View 4 Replies!   View Related
Snow Leopard :: Combine Two Separate PDF Files Into One In Preview?
Is there a simple way to combine two separate PDF files into one file in Preview?

Information:
iMac Intel Core 2 Duo
Mac OS X (10.6.2)

Posted: Nov 19, 2010

View 14 Replies!   View Related
Snow Leopard :: Print PDF Files From Preview Without Annotations?
I've annotated a bunch of PDFs in preview, but I would like to print them out without any annotations. Is this possible?

Information:
Macbook Pro
Mac OS X (10.6.2)

Posted: Mar 2, 2010

View 1 Replies!   View Related
Snow Leopard :: Preview PDF Files Drop Letters When Printed / Sort It?
I have a problem with PDF's printing without lower-case letter o's and upper-case X's. This is both to my Brother Laser Printer AND my HP C309.

It may be Mac software at a low level, because when I print a PDF to Yojimbo, the lower-case o's and upper-case X's are also missing. There may be others, but those are the two letters I noticed.

The screen displays are OK and PDF's generated to Yojimbo from Safari are OK.

The same downloaded PDF file that dropped the o's and X's print OK when opened with Acrobat Reader.

Is this a Preview problem? I'm running Preview Version 5.0.3 (504.1).

Information:
iMac 20"
Mac OS X (10.6.5)

Posted: Nov 16, 2010

View 2 Replies!   View Related
OS X :: Unable To Work With Snow Leopard Preview App / Working With Pdf Files
I have a pdf file, I want to copy certain pages from to a new file and rename the pages afterwards.
This is the awkward behavier, preview.app gives me, trying to do so:

It does not let me create a new pdf out of the program (command + N or file/new file) - why?
Instead, I have to drag one of the pages I want on the desktop, to create a new pdf file there.

Once I created a new pdf and dragged the wanted pages into my new file, I cannot rename the pages, which have now meaningless names including "(dragged)" in the middle. I have found no logical way, to rename these pages - why?

Do not ever plan, to save time in just selecting more than one page, to drag and copy over to your new pdf - you will end up with an alias in your sidebar of the new pdf file, which of no reason making sense to me is undeletable - which means - start over again!

Posted: Oct 14, 2009

View 8 Replies!   View Related
Safari :: Change My Form Auto-fill Details?
How Can I change my form auto-fill details. I want to change the phone number.my form auto-fill detailsI have only the one I want checked in my address book but it still uses a different one. Using Lion OS if that matters.

Info:MacBookPro, Mac OS X (10.7.3)

Posted: Jun 30, 2012

View 9 Replies!   View Related
MacBook Pro :: Fill Out A Returns Form To Return A Battery?
You would normally have to fill out a returns form when you send things back to stores.Just wondering why there was nothing for me to fill out as they won't know what it is when they receive it as they won't know my return i.d.does anyone know if there was supposed to be one inside? or if I need to request one from somwhere? or do i not need to do anything but send it?

Info:
MacBook
Pro, Mac OS X (10.6)

Posted: Apr 28, 2012

View 1 Replies!   View Related
OS X :: Saving Modified Pdf Files Using Preview
I received an email with a pdf file that I had to complete and send back. I opened the document with Preview, made the changes to complete the form, and saved it ("saved as" because the program wouldn't let me just "save" it. A box popped up saying that changes may affect the original format and that I had to "save as" to get a copy of the file). I opened it again just to make sure, and all the changes were there. I sent it via gmail, and a few hours later the original sender tells me that the form was empty. I checked, and it was empty, even though the name of the file was the one I gave it. I tried again with the same result. Using a PC I had no problems, so I am guessing that the issue is with Preview. Does anyone know what I did wrong?

Posted: Sep 8, 2010

View 2 Replies!   View Related
OS X V10.6 Snow Leopard :: White Out Lines On PDF Form Without Shadows?
I want to white out a couple of lines on a PDF form. White out. No box lines, no shadows. White. As in those lines disappear.What is the deal with the shadows? Is there a way to just have parts of a doc whited out?

Info:
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2009), Mac OS X (10.6.8)

Posted: Jun 10, 2012

View 2 Replies!   View Related
OS X V10.7 Lion :: Merge Pdf Files In Preview?
I must be missing something. I've read the instructions for merging pdf documents in Preview, but it's just not working. Wants me to "duplicate" a file or something. This seems very un-Mac-like. I get 2 documents open, drag the thumbnails from one into another, one at a time, and then try to "Save As".

Posted: Apr 9, 2012

View 1 Replies!   View Related
MacBook Aluminum :: Open Pdf Files In Adobe Not Preview
I just got my MacBook and all my files transferred from my old iBook. However, somehow all my pdf files are opening in Preview and not in Adobe Reader. I've had to adjust this before on my iBook, but I've forgotten how to set it so Adobe Reader is used to view pdf files.

Information:
MacBook
Mac OS X (10.5.5)

Posted: Nov 16, 2008

View 1 Replies!   View Related
MacBook Aluminum :: Use Preview With Pdf Files As Presentation Slideshow
I am very new to the Mac world, but so far very impressed. I create a lot of books in PDF and then use Preview to show them through a projector as a slideshow. However the show has auto slide change, where slides automaticaly page through. Is there any way I can get Preview to only change slides on demand, i.e. manual page through? This may have an obvious answer, if so bear with me as an "oldie", all I will say is 70+

Information:
Macbook
Mac OS X (10.3.x)
Also have IMac

Posted: Sep 8, 2009

View 1 Replies!   View Related
OS X V10.7 Lion :: How To Make Preview App Default For All PDF Files
I like Preview.app to be my primary app to open pdf and pictures. When I want to edit I will open the app I need and drag document to the icon to open. Something changed and now Adobe Acrobat has become my default.I want to change back to Preview.

Posted: May 31, 2012

View 2 Replies!   View Related
OS X Tiger :: Change Preview's Highlight Color When Searching PDF Files
I cannot see the gray highlight color when searching for key words in pdf files. How can I change the color to something that is visible? Or should I just forget preview for pdf files & get acrobat reader?

Information:
MINI
Mac OS X (10.4.11)

Posted: Dec 22, 2009

View 1 Replies!   View Related
Mac Safari :: Default To Opening PDF Files In External Preview Window?
Until recently when I clicked on a link to a PDF file in Safari, by default it would download the file and then start the Preview app to display it outside of the browser. Then at some point, presumably after an update, the default behavior was changed to use the dreaded Adobe Reader plugin. Fed up, I deleted Adobe Reader from the system (good riddance), verified that there was no PDF related plugin in the /Library/Internet Plug-Ins/ folder, and issued the command "defaults write ]URL].Safari WebKitOmitPDFSupport -bool false" in a Terminal window. Now when I click on a link to a PDF file in Safari, it still displays the file inside the browser window, but at least it's not using Adobe.

How can I revert back to the previous DEFAULT behavior - to open the link in an external Preview window?

Information:
macbook pro 15
Mac OS X (10.5.8)
Safari 5.0.2

Posted: Nov 2, 2010

View 3 Replies!   View Related
Applications :: View Pdf Files In Camino Browser Without Saving Them Or Open Preview?
does anyone know of a way (plugin or otherwise) to view pdf files in the camino browser without having to save them or open preview? i know about the pdfbrowser plugin, but that's for PPC only. ideally, i'm looking for something that will mimic safari pdf functionality... that's like the only reason i still sometimes use safari!

Posted: Feb 26, 2008

View 10 Replies!   View Related
OS X V10.7 Lion :: Add Data Hyperlinks (URI Schemes) To PDF Files With Preview?
I tried to add data hyperlinks to a pdf file with the preview app and the annotation tool like in this reference [URL]It seems it doesn't work, only for web urls.  Is this a bug?Are there any work arounds without Adobe Reader? The pdf file is made from a numbers sheet. If I add the data hyperlink within the numbers sheet and create a pdf, all links in Preview are deactivated.

Info:
Mac OS X (10.7.4), Preview 5.5.2

Posted: Jun 1, 2012

View 1 Replies!   View Related
OS X Leopard :: Preview.App Does Not Find Text In Pure Text Pdf Works In Other PDF Viewers
I am using reportlab an open source python based pdf generating package to generate pdf reports. The generated pdfs are searchable using Adobe acrobat and Google -Gmails built in pdf viewer . However in Preview.App the text seems to be only recognized as individual characters . For eg the text "hello world" will not match hello or world , but typing just h into the search bar will show up matched text as "h el l o" . So although visibly the text appears as a single word , semantically the words just seem to be composed of one or two characters.

Only Preview.App seems to have a problem with the generated pdf. Adobe Acrobat ( Mac and Windows) , Google-Gmail pdf-view , Evince-Gnome-PDF viewer ( Linux) dont have any problem with finding the text in the PDF documents generated. I have a thread in the reportlab user forum discussing the issue (see [URL]. ANd the problem definitely seems to be with Preview.App . The pdf (sample see example text in corner) is available at this url [URL] The app is targeted at scientist Mac users . And I want to have the pdf reports searchable and indexed by spotlight, so getting this working is very important for me.

Information:
macbook pro 17"
Mac OS X (10.5.7)
Preview.App text not found

Posted: Aug 31, 2009

View 2 Replies!   View Related
Mac Safari :: "can't Complete Form" Fill From Start - Remove / Overwrite Bad Values?
It's spotty in its application. On some pages it works fine and fills in all fields with one click. On others it says "can't complete form", but then as I begin typing each field, it gives me fill in options. Why can't it just fill them in from the start? My name and phone number fields have bad values that it tries to fill in. I keep entering the right stuff on new forms, but it never seems to "learn" them. How can I find and remove or overwrite the bad values, without deleting all the other fields it has learned properly (do not want total reset)? I think it is getting the last name first version of my name from address book where I have that option set, but I don't want that in my web fill ins. Is there a master auto fill template somewhere with field names and values I can edit? Or does it collect this for every different [URL] I ever fill in, and so there is no way to set values I want used in all web pages?

Information:
eMac G5
Mac OS X (10.5.8)
Safari v 5.0.3

Posted: Dec 11, 2010

View 1 Replies!   View Related
Applications :: How To View PDF Form In Zinio
I have a few magazines that are in PDF form and I wanted to view them in zinio. Does anyone know how to make this work? Can it work. I do not know how to convert from one to the other.

Posted: Oct 31, 2005

View 2 Replies!   View Related
Applications :: Excel Spread Sheet To PDF With Form Fields
I'm trying to convert an Excel spreadsheet into a PDF form. The spreadsheet is set up with 6 categories on the top and then numbers on the horizontal axis to represent employees. I need to be able to convert these cells into fillable PDF columns in Adobe Acrobat............

Posted: Feb 24, 2009

View 3 Replies!   View Related
OS X V10.7 Lion :: Why PDF Form Doesn't Work
I am having issues with my Adobe Acrobat Pro 10.1.2

I created a nice form for my client with a submit buttom to send his clients by email so they could share their answers on the same PDF straight to his inbox, but its not really working!!! After his clients fills in the form and clicks on the  submit button, an error message from Adobe Reader appears that says ¨Operation not authorize¨ 

I created this form using a Macbook Pro 10.7.3 I tried making the form a 1000 times and nothing seems to work! I also search on the google but I couldnt find answers. 

Info:
Adobe Acrobat Pro 10.1.2, Mac OS X (10.7.3)

Posted: Mar 30, 2012

View 3 Replies!   View Related
OS X Leopard :: Recover Files Form External Drive?
Well, I made a stupid mistake this morning. I am used to the Windows style of copying where if you have folders with the same name and it asks if you want to overwrite the folder, it typically merges the contents. Apparently in OSX, when you overwrite a folder, it removes the content from the previous folder and proceeds to copy the folder. So I went to backup from my laptops drive to my external and I copied the folder and it asked about the overwrite and I said okay and instantly had the thought that it was a bad idea and stopped it after only two images and the drive works perfectly fine, just missing a lot of images. So how can I recover these images? I haven't used the drive since to ensure that I didn't overwrite the files... What recover software do you recommend for OSX? Especially looking for a free solution.. I don't have $80 to plop down on a more conventional program. Also, are there programs that can place the images in the folders they came from? Would take a while to try and restore my folder structure as well. I did try the program PhotoRec that is free and open-source but it searches the whole drive and can't focus only on deleted files with the HFS+ file structures, which means there will be TONS and TONS of images that it 'recovers' that are already just fine on the drive.

Information:
MacBook Pro Late 2008
Mac OS X (10.5.6)

Posted: Mar 1, 2009

View 2 Replies!   View Related
OS X Leopard :: How To Combine PDFs Into One PDF Using Preview
Does anyone know how to combine PDFs into one PDF using Preview or any other standard program that came with Leopard besides copying into a doc?

Information:
MacBook
Mac OS X (10.5.4)

Posted: Jan 24, 2009

View 3 Replies!   View Related
OS X Leopard :: How To Rotate PDF Document In Preview
There is a book where the double pages are turned. How do you rotate them so that you can read them in preview?

Information:
iMac
Mac OS X (10.5.6)
2.4 Duo chip, 4 GB Ram, Quickertek transceiver, iPhone, iTouch,

Posted: Oct 14, 2009

View 2 Replies!   View Related
OS X Leopard :: Preview Does Not Support PDF Features?
I have generated a number of PDF files in Adobe Acrobat that are questionnaires. The intent is to have the users fill out forms, click radio buttons and check boxes within the PDF and using buttons embedded on the questionnaire email them back to me. I have run into many problems with my questionnaires by Mac OSX users. It turns out when they open my Questionnaire (PDF) Preview launches instead of Adobe Reader. Evidentially Preview is the default application for PDFs. Preview does not support "calculations" "actions" for buttons including "submit a form" and does not auto font size in the forms they fill out.

Posted: Feb 10, 2010

View 9 Replies!   View Related
OS X Leopard :: Preview No Longer Option For PDF Default
Since I updated to 10.5.8, all my PDFs defaulted to open with Acrobat. I selected one, tried to set Preview back to default application but it is not an option. When I selected "use all applications" and chose Preview, it is telling me that it won't open Acrobat PDFs. I then tried manually opening a PDF with Preview and the application will not respond.

Is there a known bug with Preview and 10.5.8? I much prefer Preview for PDFs.

As for the update install process, I did not go through Software Update. I did a manual install of the Combo 10.5.8. I repaired disk in utility (the start up disk) before installing and after the install I repaired disk permissions.

Posted: Aug 10, 2009

View 1 Replies!   View Related
OS X Leopard :: Viewing Secure PDF Documents In Preview
I have recently written an ebook that I would like to sell online. The original document was created using Pages and saved as a standard PDF. So far so good. As a way of trying to protect the book, I would like to have it password protected, which of course I can do in Preview, however, to use a stamping feature on the server that would print the buyer's name and email on the downloaded book, I am told that I need to save the PDF as Acrobat 5 or later.

The problem I am finding is that if I save a PDF in Acrobat using any kind of security it fails to view properly inside Preview. The page contents are reduced to miniscule items that are totally unusable, but those same files open perfectly inside Acrobat. So far the only way I can get password protected PDF files to open properly in Preview is if they are saved in Preview, however, I have found that these files are not compatible with the PHP stamping feature on the server that would add the buyer's details. Does anybody with knowledge of Acrobat and Preview understand what is happening here and how I can resolve this issue?

Information:
Imac
Mac OS X (10.5.8)
iMac 24 inch Duo 2.4GHz

Posted: Sep 8, 2009

View 4 Replies!   View Related
OS X Leopard :: Preview Annotations Corrupting PDF Search?
I downloaded a PDF file from the net, and without modifying the file, I can search through the file normally.

But once I put annotations in it - like highlighting some words and putting notes - and saving it afterward, searching is effectively useless. Search results would not appear anymore and sometimes weird characters would show.

Posted: Sep 29, 2009

View 1 Replies!   View Related
Snow Leopard :: New Preview Not Saving / Assemble Changes To PDF
Installed Snow Leopard and I have run into a problem with Preview. I and another colleague at work who was also upgraded can no longer add pdfs pages to another pdf in the sidebar. It allows you to do it but when you go to save, it only has save us now. In the previous version, you could click save and it would save the newly assembled pdf. Now you click save as and it doesn't retain the pdf pages that you just added. Very frustrating. I have other computer users in the office using a previous version of Preview and it works great. Is this a known bug in the new version?

Information:
MacBook Pro
Mac OS X (10.6.1)

Posted: Oct 6, 2009

View 2 Replies!   View Related
Snow Leopard :: How To Combine PDF Documents Using Preview
One of the best features of a Mac was the ability to make and combine pdf documents. In this new Snow leopard the preview pdf functions are a mess. I do not understand what they did to finder. How can you *combine pdf*'s in Snow leopard using preview?

Information:
iMac
Mac OS X (10.5.6)
2.4 Duo chip, 4 GB Ram, Quickertek transceiver, iPhone, iTouch, gal pure OJ

Posted: Jan 11, 2010

View 5 Replies!   View Related
OS X Leopard :: Preview Is Not Opening PDF's Correctly?
My Preview is for some reason not opening pdf's in the way they should look (for instance the text on a letter has turned into symbols, another has the signs as dots etc). It's really weird as it's always worked fine. The problem isn't with the pdf's themselves, as they appear perfectly well on my iphone.

Information:
iMac (Intel)
Mac OS X (10.5.8)
2 GHz Intel Core Duo, 1GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM

Posted: Apr 28, 2010

View 1 Replies!   View Related
Snow Leopard :: Using FIND - Search - On PDF In Preview
When searching a PDF document I am trying to find the text "3,000" instead it finds "000" an "3". I have tried to enter without quotes, with single quotes and with double quotes. Same thing if I try to search for anything with a period such as "10.00". It finds 10 and 00 and 10.00. Hard for me to believe the search function is that broken.

Posted: Sep 15, 2010

View 5 Replies!   View Related
Copyright 2005-08 www.BigResource.com, All rights reserved